Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-24-2011, 08:59 AM   #31
Learning by Doing
 
Leah Frances's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Easton, Maryland
Posts: 3,156
Blog Entries: 7
Share |
Default

Proper way to splice wires


Quote:
Originally Posted by Wildie View Post
One point that I would like to say. The ones that I bought were bot used for electrical connections. I needed to splice some aircraft cable, used for an awning and they worked well for this purpose.
Way to violate their UL listing, Wildie.

__________________
If I could only remember to THINK about what I was doing before I did it.
Leah Frances is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2011, 09:01 AM   #32
I ask the impossible!
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Royal Oak, Michigan
Posts: 1,068
Blog Entries: 7
Default

Proper way to splice wires


Don't Canadians also have to bond their ground to their plastic junction boxes?
__________________
Please do NOT consider any "before" picture of my house as any kind of endorsement of any particular construction method. In fact, you should probably assume that if I post a "before" picture, I am posting it because I am soliciting advice on a proper replacement for one of MANY things done wrong by a previous owner.
WillK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2011, 09:29 AM   #33
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,252
Default

Proper way to splice wires


Quote:
Originally Posted by Wildie View Post
Then how many twists are required before applying the wire nut and does this apply to all brands?
There's no simple answer to that...it really just goes by feel.

It would depend on number/size of conductors, the size wirenut, etc.
__________________
Andrew

secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2011, 11:25 AM   #34
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,503
Default

Proper way to splice wires


Quote:
Originally Posted by Bunited2 View Post
The one thing about using tape, is that wire nut is definitely not coming off until it's supposed to.
I would not count on it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wildie View Post
I have taped wire nuts on machinery that is subjected to continuous vibration because wire nuts do vibrate loose on occasion.
If you need to use tape you are using the wrong connectors for the application. Motors are a good example. While I use wirenuts on small motors I use other approved means of connection on larger equipment. The only time I see tape as required is with split bolts.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Wildie View Post
Then how many twists are required before applying the wire nut and does this apply to all brands?
No twisting is required when using wirenuts.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2011, 11:29 AM   #35
Learning by Doing
 
Leah Frances's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Easton, Maryland
Posts: 3,156
Blog Entries: 7
Default

Proper way to splice wires


Quote:
Originally Posted by J. V. View Post
No twisting is required when using wirenuts.
Nooooooooo!!!! Not the twist first or not to twist first debate.

Can we just agree that people do it both ways? And that both sides think they are right. Please?
__________________
If I could only remember to THINK about what I was doing before I did it.
Leah Frances is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2011, 11:31 AM   #36
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,252
Default

Proper way to splice wires


Quote:
Originally Posted by J. V. View Post
No twisting is required when using wirenuts.
I misread that question - i thought he was asking how many times you have to twist the wirenut.
__________________
Andrew


Last edited by secutanudu; 05-24-2011 at 11:47 AM.
secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2011, 12:31 PM   #37
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada (s/w ON.)
Posts: 2,294
Default

Proper way to splice wires


Quote:
Originally Posted by Leah Frances View Post
Way to violate their UL listing, Wildie.
The code for retractable awnings only require adherence to the Chinese Export Regs. and you know how stringent that would be.
Wildie is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Wildie For This Useful Post:
Leah Frances (05-24-2011)
Old 05-24-2011, 12:33 PM   #38
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada (s/w ON.)
Posts: 2,294
Default

Proper way to splice wires


Quote:
Originally Posted by J. V. View Post
I would not count on it.



No twisting is required when using wirenuts.
Correct! It was a trick question!
Wildie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2011, 12:36 PM   #39
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada (s/w ON.)
Posts: 2,294
Default

Proper way to splice wires


Quote:
Originally Posted by secutanudu View Post
I misread that question - i thought he was asking how many times you have to twist the wirenut.
OK! Here's another question? If you are in the Southern Hemispere, in a place such as Australia, are wire nuts twisted in a counter-clockwise direction when installing?
Wildie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2011, 02:00 PM   #40
Wire Chewer
 
Red Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,211
Default

Proper way to splice wires


I used to pretwist my wires and was glad to find out here at one point that I don't have to. My fingers no longer bleed after electrical work.

If you are really scared about a loose connection just fill the box with Great Stuff and nothing is ever going to move. (just kidding.. DO NOT do that lol)
Red Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2011, 02:02 PM   #41
Wire Chewer
 
Red Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,211
Default

Proper way to splice wires


Quote:
Originally Posted by Wildie View Post
OK! Here's another question? If you are in the Southern Hemispere, in a place such as Australia, are wire nuts twisted in a counter-clockwise direction when installing?
The easiest way to know is to flush the nearest toilet. You have to turn in that direction.
Red Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Red Squirrel For This Useful Post:
Leah Frances (05-24-2011)
Old 05-24-2011, 06:29 PM   #42
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada (s/w ON.)
Posts: 2,294
Default

Proper way to splice wires


Quote:
Originally Posted by Red Squirrel View Post
The easiest way to know is to flush the nearest toilet. You have to turn in that direction.
Especially if you've been eating Mexican!
Wildie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2011, 07:57 PM   #43
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Default

Proper way to splice wires


Fred. Wire nuts are an approved fastening device, tape is not. But tape is often used outdoors to help prevent corrosion in the wire nut. Tape is also used when vibration is a concern. If moisture is an issue, there is a product called Scotchcote.
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2011, 02:42 AM   #44
Bunited2
 
Bunited2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 10
Send a message via Yahoo to Bunited2 Send a message via Skype™ to Bunited2
Default

Proper way to splice wires


I come back after 2 days and you're all still talking about nuts?


Last edited by Bunited2; 05-26-2011 at 09:20 AM.
Bunited2 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Bunited2 For This Useful Post:
Ron6519 (05-27-2011)
Reply

Tags
junction, splicing, tape, wires


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ceiling Fan installation, 3 sets of wires in ceiling southnam Electrical 3 09-13-2010 03:00 PM
Req: Help connecting circuit breaker and running wires RickDel Electrical 5 05-26-2009 06:38 PM
Running new doorbell wires after ripped old ones out? pcampbell Electrical 3 12-14-2008 11:31 AM
Re-routing wires in attic blakstarr Electrical 10 11-24-2008 05:57 PM
replacing outlet with 3 white/3 black wires gpet573 Electrical 4 06-03-2008 02:55 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.