Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-22-2011, 07:02 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 17
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Proper way to splice wires


Hi all,

I am currently rewiring a big part of my house to replace old ungrounded cables with proper grounded wires. Last week I had the opportunity to ask an electrician a few questions; one of those was "Is it ok to splice wire in a junction box with electrical tape ?" His answer was, "Pretty much anything reasonable is ok within a junction box".

But the more I read, to more it seems it's not ok. Problem is I already have quite a bit of work involving taped splice done. So here is my question - Is it really a problem or should I leave it like this ?

I plan to have it inspected at the end to prevent any insurance related problem in the case of an accident (even though the guy inspecting it will probably be the guy who told me it was fine).

The wire is all 14. I live in Quebec, Canada.

Thanks !

Fred_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2011, 07:07 PM   #2
Framing Contractor
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 1,094
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Proper way to splice wires


Why on earth would you not use wire nuts? Am I misunderstanding something here?

sixeightten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2011, 07:21 PM   #3
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,583
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Proper way to splice wires


Twist-on connectors (wire nuts) or something like the Ideal push-ins are the correct way to ensure a tight connection. Tape is definitely not the way to make a secure problem free splice.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2011, 07:36 PM   #4
Wire Chewer
 
Red Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,211
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Proper way to splice wires


Just make sure the junction boxes are easily accessible.

You'll need to get to them in a few weeks from now.
Red Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2011, 07:40 PM   #5
IBEW Electrician
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Chicago Suburbs
Posts: 29
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Proper way to splice wires


No that is not the proper way to splice, you should be using wire nuts.
Scott3229 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2011, 07:54 PM   #6
Framing Contractor
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 1,094
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Proper way to splice wires


The guy who told you that you could is no electrician. Maybe he is an elect ition cause he told u lies.
sixeightten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2011, 08:02 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 17
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Proper way to splice wires


Haha!

he is a proper electrician with licenses an' all ! He seemed competent apart from that answer (or maybe it's common practice around here ?).

I should have mentioned that my wires are tightly twisted together under the tape. But still, If I must, I will redo those darn connections.

However, since my house is fairly old (1949) a lot of the original splices are tape only and still good after 62 years.

So, is it a total no go or more like a "it will fail earlier than wirenuts ?"

Thanks again !
Fred_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2011, 08:07 PM   #8
Learning by Doing
 
Leah Frances's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Easton, Maryland
Posts: 3,156
Rewards Points: 0
Blog Entries: 7
Default

Proper way to splice wires


Those old splices may not just be taped. They are likely soldered also.
__________________
If I could only remember to THINK about what I was doing before I did it.
Leah Frances is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2011, 08:08 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 17
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Proper way to splice wires


While we're at it, another quick question,

Is it ok to run two wires through one hole in a junction box ? I have only four holes and need 5 wires in one spot. I could do otherwise but running two wires in one hole would save me 5 joist holes !
Fred_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2011, 08:10 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 17
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Proper way to splice wires


Quote:
Originally Posted by Leah Frances View Post
Those old splices may not just be taped. They are likely soldered also.
Some are, some are not, I took a few apart to ground outlets and some were just twisted.

Ain't that twisted ! :P
Fred_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2011, 09:05 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada (s/w ON.)
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Proper way to splice wires


Twisted with tape isn't adequate in Ontario and I doubt its legal in QC either.

Splices require a certain amount of mechanical pressure that is achieved by the use of wirenuts. Merely twisting isn't sufficient.

I have made splices for street light cables. We used Burndy mechanical connectors. These were wrapped in rubber tape, followed by electrical tape and then coated with 3M Scotch Coat.
This is the only way that we were allowed to tape electrical connections.
Wildie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2011, 08:17 AM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: WV
Posts: 2,906
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Proper way to splice wires


Are you sure your "electrician" didn't misunderstand your question? I have seen electrical tape in junction boxes many times, but it was always wrapped around the wire nuts. Why, I don't know.
md2lgyk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2011, 09:18 AM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 17
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Proper way to splice wires


I was pretty clear about it as I was a bit doubtful so I don't think he misunderstood...
Fred_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2011, 12:26 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,506
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Proper way to splice wires


Quote:
Originally Posted by Fred_ View Post
Haha!

he is a proper electrician with licenses an' all ! He seemed competent apart from that answer (or maybe it's common practice around here ?).

I should have mentioned that my wires are tightly twisted together under the tape. But still, If I must, I will redo those darn connections.

However, since my house is fairly old (1949) a lot of the original splices are tape only and still good after 62 years.

So, is it a total no go or more like a "it will fail earlier than wirenuts ?"

Thanks again !
Have you ever witnessed a house fire? Electrical tape was never an approved connector.
Years ago solder was used and then taped. The wirenut was then invented and the use of tape has all but disappeared. Thankfully!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fred_ View Post
I was pretty clear about it as I was a bit doubtful so I don't think he misunderstood...
Hes a hack. I would not let him do any work for me.

Last edited by J. V.; 05-23-2011 at 06:48 PM.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2011, 12:35 PM   #15
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 17
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Proper way to splice wires


Quote:
Originally Posted by J. V. View Post
Have you ever witnessed a house fire? Electrical tape was an approved connector.
Years ago solder was used and then taped. The wirenut was then invented and the use of tape has all but disappeared. Thankfully!
How can tape inside an electrical metal box cause a fire ? I thought fire were mostly due to wrong wire gage or junctions outside of metal/plastic boxes.

Anyhow, I redid the taped junctions with wirenuts but some of the old stuff I often don't have enough loose wire to redo...

Quote:
Originally Posted by J. V. View Post
Hes a hack. I would not let him do any work for me.
I will have him do the inspection only, I will have an easier time The work I do myself anyway.

Another question, what do you guys think of plastic boxes ?

Fred_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
junction, splicing, tape, wires


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ceiling Fan installation, 3 sets of wires in ceiling southnam Electrical 3 09-13-2010 03:00 PM
Req: Help connecting circuit breaker and running wires RickDel Electrical 5 05-26-2009 06:38 PM
Running new doorbell wires after ripped old ones out? pcampbell Electrical 3 12-14-2008 11:31 AM
Re-routing wires in attic blakstarr Electrical 10 11-24-2008 05:57 PM
replacing outlet with 3 white/3 black wires gpet573 Electrical 4 06-03-2008 02:55 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.