Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-01-2013, 12:49 PM   #76
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 44
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Proper receptacle for circuit?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
You do not need to wire using a switch loop.
So then both devices can share the neutral on 12/3 and I just run my hot through the desired switch?

Also, any answers to the previous question appreciated.

scottl31 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2013, 01:45 PM   #77
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 44
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Proper receptacle for circuit?


OK, I think I finally know what I'm going to do, but I have a question if anybody is still with me.

I was going to use this subpanel to feed these circuits:
http://www.homedepot.com/p/t/2022531...N#.Un6JRI3XW3C

But it was out of stock, so I found this one for a dollar more:
http://www.homedepot.com/p/Murray-12...e#.Un6OeI3XW3A

They appear to be the same, but they have a different model number and price.

Can anybody tell me the difference and if I should use one over the other?

Thanks,
Scott
scottl31 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2013, 02:27 PM   #78
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,585
Rewards Points: 4
Default

Proper receptacle for circuit?


Look at the model number in the link provided. The guts are the same but the covers are for flush or surface mount. This is the last letter of the LCN004 part. S = Surface, F = Flush.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2013, 02:48 PM   #79
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 44
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Proper receptacle for circuit?


It's confusing because the picture is the same for both, and on some web sites the LC004NFU is marked as surface mount.

So then the LC004NS is meant to be mounted ON the wall and the LC004NFU is meant to be mounted IN the wall? Correct?

Thanks!
scottl31 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2013, 06:22 PM   #80
Electrical Contractor
 
Philly Master's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: SE PA
Posts: 1,137
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Proper receptacle for circuit?


Quote:
Originally Posted by scottl31 View Post
OK, I think I finally know what I'm going to do, but I have a question if anybody is still with me.

I was going to use this subpanel to feed these circuits:
http://www.homedepot.com/p/t/2022531...N#.Un6JRI3XW3C

But it was out of stock, so I found this one for a dollar more:
http://www.homedepot.com/p/Murray-12...e#.Un6OeI3XW3A

They appear to be the same, but they have a different model number and price.

Can anybody tell me the difference and if I should use one over the other?

Thanks,
Scott
outside dimentions are different ...LOL

__________________
Philadelphia Master Electrician-Generac Dealer
Philly Master is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Receptacle Question Pete77 Electrical 17 07-08-2013 07:44 PM
Adding GFCI receptacle outdoors Dale Gribble Electrical 2 03-21-2012 01:18 PM
Electrical power disappeared from switch to receptacle craighank Electrical 3 02-19-2012 01:06 PM
Replacing duplex receptacle with nighlight - wiring question Rabu Electrical 6 05-02-2010 07:51 PM
20A or 15A receptacle ejlog Electrical 3 02-21-2005 06:29 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.