Proper Grounding Of Meter Main To Breaker Panel - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-08-2009, 12:44 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 195
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Proper grounding of meter main to breaker panel


These diagrams are such a great resource. Now if only they were numbered...

If I understand the diagram below, no ground connection is shown between the meter enclosure and the breaker panel enclosure. Shouldn't it be a 4-wire connection with a bonded ground for the enclosures?

http://www.dropshots.com/stubbie4#al...09-22/19:47:22

Advertisement

tns1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2009, 12:48 AM   #2
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Proper grounding of meter main to breaker panel


no. you bond at the first disconnect, which, unless the meter is a combo meter/disco is at the main disco in the panel.


the neutral is bonded in the meter base in residential meters so it is grounded via that connection.

Advertisement

nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2009, 08:20 AM   #3
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 8,056
Rewards Points: 2,910
Default

Proper grounding of meter main to breaker panel


Not all power companies permit the grounding to take place in the meter socket.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2009, 10:24 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 195
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Proper grounding of meter main to breaker panel


OK. I was comparing the diagram with the situation where the meter enclosure has a disconnect or main breaker built-in, thinking this would be the same as far as grounding. Now I see they are handled differently due to the location of the disconnect.
tns1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Subpanel for now, convert to 2nd main panel later? abmiller67 Electrical 2 08-27-2009 02:44 PM
Sub Panel Main Lug Load Center - Single Phase ? Roy Rowlett Electrical 21 08-20-2009 07:55 PM
main breaker panel terminology question! jeffjohnson1 Electrical 3 09-30-2008 09:04 AM
Replace main panel or use subpanel? MasterofNone Electrical 8 02-12-2008 01:24 AM
Circuit breaker panel - Advice needed justtired Electrical 15 12-13-2007 06:55 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts