Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-15-2011, 01:50 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 1
Share |
Default

Proper grounding of 220 and 110 circuits


My landlord (of a barn I rent) added a 220 and 110 circuit for me. He routed conduit from the panel with both circuits to a j-box. In the box he added the 220 outlet of the type I requested. He also has a black and white wire (with wire nuts) in the box and tells me this is my 110 circuit.

I want to add a second 220 outlet and a new 4 gang 110 outlet and then route to some switched lights.

The 220 outlet has the two hots and a ground wire with no pigtail to the box.

1. To pull some armor cable for the 110 circuit from this box how to I get ground?
- To the box?
- To the ground of the 220?
- Should it go to both?
2. If I add a stub of conduit and a second box for an additional 220 outlet do I just run the wire from outlet to outlet with no ground to the box(es)?

bwx100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2011, 01:54 PM   #2
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Default

Proper grounding of 220 and 110 circuits


Quote:
Originally Posted by bwx100 View Post
My landlord (of a barn I rent) added a 220 and 110 circuit for me. He routed conduit from the panel with both circuits to a j-box. In the box he added the 220 outlet of the type I requested. He also has a black and white wire (with wire nuts) in the box and tells me this is my 110 circuit.

I want to add a second 220 outlet and a new 4 gang 110 outlet and then route to some switched lights.

The 220 outlet has the two hots and a ground wire with no pigtail to the box.

1. To pull some armor cable for the 110 circuit from this box how to I get ground?
- To the box?
- To the ground of the 220?
- Should it go to both?
2. If I add a stub of conduit and a second box for an additional 220 outlet do I just run the wire from outlet to outlet with no ground to the box(es)?
Landlord already failed. 2 supplies to a structure is generally illegal.

Wait, is the panel in the barn and is the conduit metal?


Last edited by Code05; 09-15-2011 at 01:56 PM.
Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.