Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-11-2012, 04:53 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 4
Share |
Default

Proper conduit install


I have a 2 story home and I am wanting to run a feeder to my subpanel through the attic to the other side of the house. My question is this - Is there a limit on how high I can come out of the house? For example, if I want to exit the house at the top (even with the bottom of the roof), can I as long as I run the feeder in conduit? I am trying to avoid having to drop the line in the wall all the way down and then having to go through the brick.

Thanks for the help.

swami101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 05:13 PM   #2
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,687
Default

Proper conduit install


Quote:
Originally Posted by swami101 View Post
I have a 2 story home and I am wanting to run a feeder to my subpanel through the attic to the other side of the house. My question is this - Is there a limit on how high I can come out of the house? For example, if I want to exit the house at the top (even with the bottom of the roof), can I as long as I run the feeder in conduit? I am trying to avoid having to drop the line in the wall all the way down and then having to go through the brick.

Thanks for the help.
Sure... around my parts I would use SE type cable and not even use conduit... but this scares people from other parts of the country.

stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 07:23 PM   #3
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,783
Default

Proper conduit install


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post
Sure... around my parts I would use SE type cable and not even use conduit... but this scares people from other parts of the country.
Of course you meant to say SER............
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 07:35 PM   #4
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,687
Default

Proper conduit install


Quote:
Originally Posted by brric View Post
Of course you meant to say SER............
Not at all, But yes, SER would be the type of SE type cable he would want to purchase if allowable in his area.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 08:29 PM   #5
liscenced electrician
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Oregon coast
Posts: 983
Default

Proper conduit install


Quote:
Originally Posted by swami101 View Post
I have a 2 story home and I am wanting to run a feeder to my subpanel through the attic to the other side of the house. My question is this - Is there a limit on how high I can come out of the house? For example, if I want to exit the house at the top (even with the bottom of the roof), can I as long as I run the feeder in conduit? I am trying to avoid having to drop the line in the wall all the way down and then having to go through the brick.

Thanks for the help.
I have no idea what youre suggesting but I'm guessing its really ghetto, although possibly not a code violation. Maybe a picture of what you are suggwsting
jimmy21 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 09:59 PM   #6
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,336
Default

Proper conduit install


I don't have a picture handy, but IMO, it looks horrible. Others will argue that EMT looks horrible. Its all a matter of what you are used to seeing on a regular basis. Both are completely legal according to the NEC.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2012, 01:29 AM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 4
Default

Proper conduit install


Thanks for the responses. I just wanted to make sure I could drop it down from that height. I will be using pvc conduit for it and into the ground from the subpanel for my hot tub. It makes it much easier than having to fish down a wall, then drill through brick. The second story of the house is siding. Its also in the backyard, so it will not look as bad. Any other ideas for this woudl be greatly appreciated.
swami101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2012, 02:53 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 119
Default

Proper conduit install


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post
Sure... around my parts I would use SE type cable and not even use conduit... but this scares people from other parts of the country.
Does "S.E." stand for "Scorched Earth"...?
kontoose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2012, 02:56 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 119
Default

Proper conduit install


..."S.E." Does that, by the way, stand for "Scorched Earth...?
kontoose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2012, 02:58 AM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 119
Default

Proper conduit install


Heehee...: Ghetto...?
kontoose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2012, 03:03 AM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 119
Default

Proper conduit install


No problem... I get your concern: In high-rise buildings there are codes that limit the height of a vertical drop of conductors in conduit -- stops or chocks need to be installed to deal with the accumulated weight of the drop. You have nothing to worry about with a 2 story building. Just make sure your grounds are good...
kontoose is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to kontoose For This Useful Post:
swami101 (07-12-2012)
Old 07-12-2012, 05:11 AM   #12
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,687
Default

Proper conduit install


Quote:
Originally Posted by swami101 View Post
Thanks for the responses. I just wanted to make sure I could drop it down from that height. I will be using pvc conduit for it and into the ground from the subpanel for my hot tub. It makes it much easier than having to fish down a wall, then drill through brick. The second story of the house is siding. Its also in the backyard, so it will not look as bad. Any other ideas for this woudl be greatly appreciated.
That changes my selection choice, you need an insulated grounding conductor to the hot tub...
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2012, 06:11 AM   #13
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,336
Default

Proper conduit install


I thought you said this was hitting a sub panel?

Quote:
I have a 2 story home and I am wanting to run a feeder to my subpanel through the attic to the other side of the house.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2012, 05:18 PM   #14
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,687
Default

Proper conduit install


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
I thought you said this was hitting a sub panel?
One end of it was.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2012, 05:53 PM   #15
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,682
Default

Proper conduit install


If he is hitting a sub before he gos to the hot tub, then he dosen't need the insulated ground.

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How To Install a Chimney Liner Rockford How To Guides 0 01-24-2012 10:00 AM
Would like advice on whether this violates NEC; flex conduit through (kitch) cabinet. buckybadger Electrical 2 12-15-2011 10:23 AM
Running electricity on a pergola to install fan Vance Electrical 0 10-23-2011 11:43 AM
Chicago Conduit Rules Wrigleyville Electrical 6 01-28-2010 06:49 PM
Sheathing/siding around conduit destroyer427 Building & Construction 1 10-20-2009 05:25 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.