Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-23-2009, 02:06 PM   #31
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Share |
Default

Proper awg wire size to use?


Quote:
Originally Posted by money-pit View Post
You can try snaking it first or use an existing conductor as a pull rope
Also which ever connector your pulling out of .I would thread on a metal bushing to protect the pvc connector
Metal elbows buried underground are required by the utilities in most places now
Good Luck

Metal elbows on PVC?
Never heard of that, not required around here

As I remember only (4) 90 turns are allowed between pull points

You use an exisiting conductor by attaching the new wire & another snake/rope to pull the exisiting conductor BACK thru the conduit. I'm not sure that will work with #4 & the size conduit you have

Protect the PVC connector?
We cut & glue PVC, nothing threaded to protect
Where the PVC goes into the panel a bushing is required - I use the plastic ones


Last edited by Scuba_Dave; 06-23-2009 at 02:11 PM.
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2009, 02:35 PM   #32
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 10
Default

Proper awg wire size to use?


No
You use and existing conductor as the pull rope
You just tie on a the ground conductor (1-#10 &1-#4)and replace the conductor you are pulling out
He said he pulled in Thhn Thwn so I would see if you could get one of them to move first.If not, snake it an just pull the ground but watch the live bus in your main panel if using a metal snake
Sometimes you just can't pull straight out the panel with the guts in there.
Thats why I'll use a metal bushing till the wires in and then repace with a plastic
Plastic bushings/connectors and elbows for that matter can create alot of friction and will melt
Use lots of soap
money-pit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2009, 02:45 PM   #33
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 1,813
Default

Proper awg wire size to use?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Scuba_Dave View Post
Metal elbows on PVC?
Never heard of that, not required around here
Electricians that do alot of underground work do this pretty often. On long pulls, a rope or the wire can burn through a PVC ell, so we use rigid 90s. The code addresses specifically, and allows us to get away with not bonding these if they are 18" deep or greater. Don't know the article right of hand though.
InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2009, 02:46 PM   #34
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

Proper awg wire size to use?


So you want him to go out & buy another piece of #4 to use as a pull wire?
And buy a metal bushing then throw it away after?
I used the plastic on a 100' pull, no problems, no need to spend more $$

I did buy the yellow pull lubricant - well worth the $$
I'd be careful on using any soap unles you know it doesn't have any animal fat in it



Thanks for the info InPhase
But you do it because it is better, or required?
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2009, 02:54 PM   #35
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 1,813
Default

Proper awg wire size to use?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Scuba_Dave View Post

Thanks for the info InPhase
But you do it because it is better, or required?
I do it because once you burn through the ell, it is nearly impossible to complete the job. If you have a long run before the 90, then a good distance to go after that, it is a good idea to use a rigid ell.
InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2009, 03:06 PM   #36
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 10
Default

Proper awg wire size to use?


Just trying to give'em some safer options
Better to spend a little extra cash and be safe
You could for that matter just pull everything out
with a drag line attached
You never know Be careful with that metal snake.....hmm
money-pit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2009, 04:18 PM   #37
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

Proper awg wire size to use?


Quote:
Originally Posted by money-pit View Post
Just trying to give'em some safer options
Better to spend a little extra cash and be safe
You could for that matter just pull everything out
with a drag line attached
You never know Be careful with that metal snake.....hmm
Yes, but there is a big difference between "required"

and

It's better if you have a long pull

I do like to hear/learn of better ways to do things
So Thanks for bringing it up !

Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wire size for 100 amp basement sub-panel jbrown77 Electrical 4 10-25-2009 09:58 AM
Please confirm wire size and type for amperage. wantsomegetsome Electrical 14 05-07-2009 05:49 AM
Subpanel wire size surrogate Electrical 15 02-14-2009 08:47 PM
Anyone know proper size for room a/c-heat? Duane 70 HVAC 7 10-04-2008 10:17 AM
Wire size for distance Question fburke Electrical 4 07-28-2007 09:29 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.