Problems With Breaker Box - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-15-2006, 07:42 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Problems with breaker box


What could cause the main breaker in my breaker box to trip? I have a 100 amp breaker box with six 20 amp single pole breakers, two 30 amp double pole breakers, and one 50 amp double breaker. running a 120 volt monitor heater, washer, deep freezer, frig, two tv's, one computer, lights, with 220 volt 3/4 horsepower well, electric stove and hot water heater in a 6 room house. Also have a vented oil stove in the back room which has a blower on it. Does any of this help?

Advertisement

whitepa254 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2006, 08:05 PM   #2
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,904
Rewards Points: 2,162
Default

Problems with breaker box


A bad connection at the stab behind the breaker is the most common cause I see.
Is the breaker real hot, even though the load is moderate?

Advertisement

__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2006, 08:26 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Problems with breaker box


Im not sure what moderate is but when im using the washer and stove it does get hot and I think, if I remember right it gets hot by just running the washer.
whitepa254 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2006, 08:40 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Problems with breaker box


Im not sure what moderate is but when im using the washer and stove it does get hot and I think, if I remember right it gets hot by just running the washer.
whitepa254 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2006, 10:03 PM   #5
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,904
Rewards Points: 2,162
Default

Problems with breaker box


Moderate is half of the house running. From your description I would be concerned.

Please call an electrician. The main breaker is no place for a DIY to be messing around.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2006, 05:28 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Problems with breaker box


Does this mean I will have to replace the breaker box?
whitepa254 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2006, 09:58 PM   #7
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,904
Rewards Points: 2,162
Default

Problems with breaker box


Possibly. Actually likely.
If the breaker stabs are burned and corroded then a new main breaker alone will do no good as it would have to attach to those bad stabs.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2006, 10:24 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Problems with breaker box


:o My house is an old house and use to have a fuse box which held four screw in fuses and two push in type if you know what I mean. four for 120 and two for 220. It was switch out and a 100 amp breaker box put in. When it was switch the house was rewired but the wire from the meter to the box and from the power company pole to the meter was not. What are your feelings about this. I think I forgot to mention this before and it may change what you told me before. Also what is your opinion about changing the 100 amp breaker box to a 200 amp box. Will these other wires I mentioned have to be changed also?

Last edited by whitepa254; 02-16-2006 at 10:29 PM.
whitepa254 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2006, 11:37 PM   #9
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,904
Rewards Points: 2,162
Default

Problems with breaker box


I would have never gone from a fuse panel to a breaker panel without replacing everything. The age of anything from the fuse era would alone warrant replacement.

For a service upgrade everything from the taps at the top of the service, down to the panel, breakers and grounding/bonding, must be replaced. Depending on your area a 200a upgrade could run anwhere from $1200-$2500.
Depending on the size of your house, actual circuits and load, and more importantly future plans, 200 amps might not be a bad idea.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2006, 05:53 AM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Problems with breaker box


Thanks. You been very helpful and to anyone else who is living in the upstate NY area and reading this I would highly recommend speedy petey for any electrical work that you may need done.
whitepa254 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2006, 03:37 PM   #11
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,904
Rewards Points: 2,162
Default

Problems with breaker box


You're quite welcome, and thank you!

Advertisement

__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Circuit breaker panel - Advice needed justtired Electrical 15 12-13-2007 06:55 AM
Outdoor breaker panel questions lhoney2 Electrical 12 07-19-2007 06:44 PM
Breaker Buzz SkipI Electrical 2 07-13-2007 08:48 PM
GFCI breaker problems bwoo Electrical 5 12-09-2006 03:53 PM
Breaker Problems tonymull Electrical 12 03-30-2005 05:11 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts