Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-03-2012, 01:25 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Fountain Valley, CA 92708 (orange county)
Posts: 659
Rewards Points: 502
Default

Problem with wire to doorbell button.


I had to replace siding around a front door, and decided to take the opportunity to restore the old doorbell. I ran the doorbell button wires down the wall, and put wood siding up, but now i I suspect the circuit to the doorbell button is closed, maybe I accidentally drove a siding nail through the wires?
Anyone with a suggesting for this DIY mistake? Or forget the new doorbell parts as a lost investment? I don't see how I can pull a fresh pair of wires through if I've nailed the first set of wires.

darsunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2012, 07:25 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,964
Rewards Points: 2,024
Default

Problem with wire to doorbell button.


You could get a "wireless" doorbell set. This has batteries in the button unit and also in the chime unit and uses radio communication between the two.

__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2012, 08:25 AM   #3
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Rewards Points: 1,000
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

Problem with wire to doorbell button.


Do you have a meter? Have you tried to move the wire around to see if it can be removed? If so you could tie a string to one end and pull the wire out and the string in. Check it out for bad spots.
__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2012, 09:07 AM   #4
Member
 
Tom Struble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: west milford n.j.
Posts: 2,785
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Problem with wire to doorbell button.


it's not impossible to take some siding down
Tom Struble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2012, 10:00 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Fountain Valley, CA 92708 (orange county)
Posts: 659
Rewards Points: 502
Default

Problem with wire to doorbell button.


Thanks for the replies.
I will take a multimeter up there to test to be sure that section of wire to the button is the trouble. With power to the transformer the doorbell runs continuously even though I've taken the button off and the wire ends are separate. But it will stop if I break the circuit somewhere else.
The wire jams when I try to pull it out. It runs freely down between the studs except near the bottom, where I ran it through a hole drilled in the studs where the previous doorbell wire had run. It may be jammed in there and the insulation rubbed off, causing the contact, or maybe a nail somewhere...
I'm thinking twist another set of wires to the outside end, wrap it in tape, then pull the other way and hope it doesn't jam and the connection holds? Or would string be better.
The siding is lap siding with trim nailed over it, it would be a pain to tear sections of it out.
Those wireless doorbells never last more than a few months. Also the signal has trouble going through solid wood, and sometimes the signal more easily rings the neighbors doorbell than the one it was intended for!
darsunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2012, 10:33 AM   #6
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Rewards Points: 1,000
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

Problem with wire to doorbell button.


I would use string. Don't take much to skin the insulation off that stuff. I like to use telephone wire or network cable for doorbells. The added insulation helps instead of just two thin separately insulated wires.
__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2012, 10:40 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Fountain Valley, CA 92708 (orange county)
Posts: 659
Rewards Points: 502
Default

Problem with wire to doorbell button.


I removed enough trim and siding to find out what went wrong. When I was installing the tar paper I was shifting it around, and the doorbell wire was caught up in the paper, and moved to a place where it got caught between siding and wood. When I nailed the wood lap siding in place it crushed the wires together.
Problem fixed, siding replaced. But took a good part of the afternoon.
darsunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2012, 08:40 AM   #8
Member
 
Tom Struble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: west milford n.j.
Posts: 2,785
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Problem with wire to doorbell button.


your welcome

Tom Struble is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
voltage on ground wire - multiple ground problem? Thaiman Electrical 14 04-02-2011 11:49 AM
4 wire problem tchenson Electrical 7 04-04-2010 01:17 PM
Replacing Button for Electrical Garage Door Opener FL_Deb Electrical 6 04-22-2008 11:36 AM
Installing Fluorescents in Garage rzrbkpk Electrical 26 04-08-2008 09:00 PM
Doorbell Problem TonyD Electrical 5 03-23-2007 09:04 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.