Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-24-2010, 05:12 PM   #16
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 10
Share |
Default

Problem with switch


Alright so today I broke off the tab on both sides of the receptacle because I found some of the old outlets I replaced and the only one I could find with no tab on the live side also had the tab removed on the neutral side. Well, this didn't work because now while the bottom outlet is correctly controlled by the switch, the top of the outlet and multiple other outlets don't work at all. These non-functioning outlets are the same ones that were previously also controlled by the light switch. So reading some posts here I figured I was wrong in removing both tabs and replaced the receptacle with a new one where I removed the tab bridging the live terminals(brass screws) only. However, this produced the same results and the other outlets are still non-functioning. I don't really know what to do know, so I'll just wait until someone chimes in with some insight. I know it is Christmas eve and everyone is relaxing with loved ones, so thanks for any help I can get and all previous advice.


Last edited by goldynchyld; 12-24-2010 at 05:15 PM. Reason: clarity
goldynchyld is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2010, 07:06 PM   #17
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,539
Default

Problem with switch


Did you check all the breakers. I think you have another tripped breaker. If no tripped breakers then you have a fault on the second circuit somewhere. Also since I think you mentioned an outdoor receptacle not working. There could be a tripped GFCI.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2010, 06:11 PM   #18
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 10
Default

Problem with switch


Alright I checked the GFCI's in the garage and I don't know what it means, but the reset buttons won't even click in. Also reset all the breakers, and remembered that one is kind of limp and while it does move to the right somewhat it doesn't click like the others. Is is it possible that this is the problem and I must replace this breaker. Also, I should mention it was like this before while those outlets were still working but controlled by the switch. Is it possible although this breaker was already tripped the outlets were still functioning because of the incorrect wiring of the receptacle where the tabs were not broken.
goldynchyld is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2010, 06:14 PM   #19
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 10
Default

Problem with switch


Also I took a look at receptacles in other rooms that are half controlled by switches and they all seem to have the tab broken on both sides. Earlier post made it seem that I should only break the tab bridging the hot terminals only, can someone explain the different situations for these different configurations.
goldynchyld is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2010, 06:59 PM   #20
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,865
Default

Problem with switch


If there is more than one circuit feeding the recep then it makes sense that both tabs would be removed. One circuit hot and neutral to the top and a second hot and neutral to the bottom half of the duplex.
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2010, 07:34 PM   #21
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,539
Default

Problem with switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by goldynchyld View Post
Alright I checked the GFCI's in the garage and I don't know what it means, but the reset buttons won't even click in. Also reset all the breakers, and remembered that one is kind of limp and while it does move to the right somewhat it doesn't click like the others. Is is it possible that this is the problem and I must replace this breaker. Also, I should mention it was like this before while those outlets were still working but controlled by the switch. Is it possible although this breaker was already tripped the outlets were still functioning because of the incorrect wiring of the receptacle where the tabs were not broken.
GFCI that won't reset = no power.

Limp breaker = tripped breaker. Turn it OFF then back on.

By not breaking the tab you shorted two circuits together and one of them tripped. The one that didn't trip powered the other circuit though the tab. Now that you have broken the tabs you need to reset the tripped breaker and the GFCIs.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.

Last edited by joed; 12-26-2010 at 07:36 PM.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2010, 08:42 PM   #22
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 10
Default

Problem with switch


Alright, thanks to bbric and joed I understand now and am glad I finally figured this whole thing out. Also that breaker doesn't seem to reset, so I'm guessing it is faulty and needs to be replaced and I'll be all ok. Also to be clear the breaker never clicks, it is NOT a case where the breaker trips immediately after being reset. It won't physically go completely to the right as the other breakers do.
goldynchyld is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2010, 09:43 PM   #23
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,539
Default

Problem with switch


Did you go to the left first turning it OFF? That is what resets it before you can turn it on. If that doesn't work then the breaker is likely bad.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2010, 09:06 PM   #24
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 10
Default

Problem with switch


Wow I feel stupid, it was the breaker. It was just tripped and I was not properly reseting it. Glad to finally be done with all this, everything is working fine and is back to normal. I just want to thank everyone here who posted some help, especially joed.

goldynchyld is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Carrier Infinity 69 Trouble Code 42 bodya1 HVAC 4 12-05-2010 06:43 PM
fan/light switch buzzing mjlocat Electrical 4 05-23-2010 02:44 PM
3-way light with a twist Jeepsail Electrical 14 05-18-2010 01:24 AM
Problem changing light switch grgryl Electrical 14 08-10-2008 01:26 PM
3 way switch problem Rschrei518 Electrical 2 01-04-2008 12:35 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.