Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-03-2007, 10:00 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 5
Share |
Default

Problem with Split Recepticle


Over the weekend I was replacing several recepticles in my living room. I replaced 5 without incident, but had some trouble replacing a split receptacle controlled by a light switch. I removed the metal top in between the brass screws and wiring exactly how I found it. There were 2 whites, 2 blacks (1 just lying there), 1 red wire, and the ground wire. When I rewired exactly how it was before, nothing worked. I tried several more times w/ different receptacles, but to no avail. I then used the other black wire and that worked but the red wire (controlled by light switch) did not work. Not only that, but two hallway light switches stopped workng!! I have no idea what went wrong. I did exactly what I was supposed to do. I've changed many recepticles in my day, and have no idea what happened.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

jacksup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2007, 10:53 AM   #2
Licensed Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 1,534
Default

Problem with Split Recepticle


I'll bet the one just lying there was originally connected via the pushin hole. Connect the two black wires together along with a black pigtail (6in piece of wire). Connect this pigtail to one brass screw of the receptacle. Connect the red wire to the other. Connect the whites to the silver screws (do not remove the tab between the silver screws). Turn the power back on and see if all works as it is supposed to.

HouseHelper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2007, 12:12 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,503
Default

Problem with Split Recepticle


Househelper is on the money. Connect all the blacks with a pigtail. Make sure all the whites are conneted to each other and to the recept. The red should be the one on the switch.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2007, 01:37 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 5
Default

Problem with Split Recepticle


Thanks for the advice. I did what you said.... pigtailed the black wires. The hallway lights work but the top of the recepticle still does not work. I double checked everthing again and don't see any thing wrong w/ any connections, wires, etc. What could be the deal with the red wire / top recepticle connection.

Thanks again.
jacksup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2007, 02:55 PM   #5
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 4,876
Default

Problem with Split Recepticle


Put the wiring back as househelper instructed. Take a voltmeter and test between the red and ground on the receptacle with the switch in the off position. Should not be any voltage.

If no voltage then test the red wire to ground with the switch in the "on" position. You should have voltage. If you do and nothing works when plugged into the outlet then you have an issue with the white wires. Make sure the tab is not broken between the silver screws.

Post back with the results.

Stubbie
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2007, 11:01 PM   #6
Mechanical Contractor
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 115
Default

Problem with Split Recepticle


When you put the blacks together did you add another to tie into the top of the outlet?
MechanicalDVR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2007, 09:19 AM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 5
Default

Problem with Split Recepticle


I will try Stubbie's suggestions tonight. MechanicalDVR, I did what Househelper instructed me to do. I connected two black wires with a 6 in pigtail then connected that wire to the bottom half of the recepticle. I then connected the red wire to the top half of the recepticle. Connected both whites to the silver screw (tab not borken off in b/w silver screws) then connected the ground. Not sure what you mean by adding another black to tie into the top??? Please elaborate, I'm not the brightest when it comes to this kind of stuff.

Thanks again to all for the help.

jacksup is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trouble installing ceiling light fixtures: same problem x3 sweetroad9 Electrical 5 04-13-2007 01:46 PM
Post-Tension Slab Problem Advice/Help Mike McBride Building & Construction 2 01-09-2007 01:51 PM
A/C Thermostat Problem therumblefish HVAC 7 11-01-2006 08:08 PM
Drywall, Mold Problem due to Leaked Water june03 Building & Construction 2 10-31-2006 07:24 AM
Problem W/ Power after Switching Outlets... G19-Fanatic Electrical 17 08-28-2006 01:55 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.