Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-10-2008, 11:51 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Problem with Neutral Connection


I am new here and have not had much time to look around. So I apologize if this issue has been covered before.

Problem: 120v 20amp circuit stopped working out of the blue.
Receptical: Hot to ground = 120volts
Hot to Neutral = 99volts
Ground to Neutral = 50Mohms

Question: Is this an indication that the neutral is floating or comprimised? It is my understanding that the readings should be as follows:
Hot to Ground = 120volts
Hot to Neutral = 120volts
Ground to Neutral = 0Ohms.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. I am planning on opening the panel tomorrow. However, seems unlikely that there is a problem seems everything has been working for 5+ years.

Thank you in advance for suggestions or comments.

Kevin

kbrigham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2008, 12:46 AM   #2
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Problem with Neutral Connection


did you test with the digtail voltmeter ??


If so you may end up reading ghost voltage and the way you descrbing i am more leaning you have bad netural connection somehwere.

a very simple test is take a table lamp just plug it in and you should see it lit up or not a very simple go / no go test.

before you start working on the connection i really strongly advise ya to turn off the breaker for that circuit [ if mapped out or marked ]

it can be bad back stabbed repectale or bad wirenut connection [ backstabbed repectales are most common for netural conntion dropped out ]

Merci, Marc

frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2008, 01:05 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Problem with Neutral Connection


Quote:
However, seems unlikely that there is a problem seems everything has been working for 5+ years
I don't use a digital meter for this type of troubleshooting. There is no load placed on the circuit. It can be hanging by a thread and still read voltage.

Always start at the source. I had one today that was installed in 2001. The neutral connection at the bus had never been sufficiently tightened and it chose Friday to stp working.


At least 1/2 the time it is at a feed thru receptical that has been backstabbed. Use logic and trace the circuit path.

SOME of your circuit may still be working so I dentify the breaker, turn it off and check all outlets/lights. If some are working you know where it stopped.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2008, 06:30 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Problem with Neutral Connection


Thanks for the responses. Turns out the Netural wire had arc'd within the SP compromising the connection. Now, I guess the question is how did this happen.

Loose to begin with??
Brother messing with the GFCI outlet?? (His history indicates he should not mess with electricity)

However it happened I was able to reterminate and verify its operation. Thanks again for the suggestions.

Kevin
kbrigham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2008, 07:00 PM   #5
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,864
Rewards Points: 2,032
Default

Problem with Neutral Connection


Quote:
Originally Posted by kbrigham View Post
Loose to begin with??
More than likely.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is it possible to add a 4 way switch to this configuration? irich Electrical 55 11-25-2007 09:15 AM
Sub panel grounding sluggermike Electrical 27 11-11-2007 01:23 AM
gfci problem - 120v between ground and neutral dave0419 Electrical 1 08-18-2007 12:01 AM
Suspected open/loose service neutral mrtomwj Electrical 5 09-28-2006 08:46 AM
Splice in Neutral to Panel - OK or Not? allpraisebob Electrical 4 08-12-2006 05:54 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.