Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-27-2007, 06:10 PM   #16
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Problem with line voltage


not today but have done it before and I got 122-125 VAC on each.

mehranalmasi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2007, 07:19 PM   #17
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,878
Rewards Points: 2,110
Default

Problem with line voltage


That is what's strange. With the motor connected you would get a backfeed on the open line and get a reading. With both lines disconnected from the motor the open line should read zero.

It is possible you have a line open and shorted to the other line.

What exactly is the wiring method from the source (timer, etc.) to the motor? Cable? Pipe and wire?
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2007, 12:38 PM   #18
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Problem with line voltage


yes I have done this before and both reading 122-125VAC!
mehranalmasi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2007, 12:45 PM   #19
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Problem with line voltage


please igonor my last post! its a repeat.
I have a toggle swith placed beofre the timer. From the timer a metal non-flex conduit goes down about 3 feet towards ground and make a 90 degree turn close to concrete surface and runs about two feet to reach the motor. Three wires from the timer, one connected to the timer housing, run through the conduit and to the motor.

After reading your posting, I think I need to open the toggle switch and check the volatage on the wiring that goes into the switch.

thanks.
mehranalmasi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2007, 02:53 PM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,510
Rewards Points: 2,008
Default

Problem with line voltage


Have you tried to take a voltage reading while the pump motor is energized. Should there be a motor issue the high current will reduce the line voltage. Don't test to ground. Test across the two CCC's. (hots). You want to see 220/240 volts AC. Make sure meter is not showing milivolts. Quite common and possibly confusing. Make sure the meter reads VAC not MV.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2007, 01:11 PM   #21
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Problem with line voltage


Thank you all for helping to get to the bottom of this. I measured across the two hot lines on the switch before the timer and the needle moved a bit! Nothing measured on the other side of the switch when I turned it on which was more confusing. I went to the panel and noticed that one of the breakers of the two did not quite look in place. I turned both off and back on and suddenly everything is back to normal!

Thank you all for helping to get to the bottom of this.

Mehran
mehranalmasi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2007, 07:12 AM   #22
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Problem with line voltage


yeah the breaker that looked a bit out of place would have been tripped, they dont move over all the way when tripped, you have to move it to off then back on

ben23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Condensate Line schott HVAC 17 06-02-2008 04:16 PM
Problem with Main Line or Not? reibuild Plumbing 2 05-02-2007 11:41 AM
Post-Tension Slab Problem Advice/Help Mike McBride Building & Construction 2 01-09-2007 02:51 PM
how to run fridge water line under kitchen floor? travishume Plumbing 23 09-26-2006 08:51 AM
Installing exterior faucet to washer line? skellies Plumbing 3 06-18-2006 09:19 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.