Problem With Circuit - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-09-2011, 07:22 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Problem with Circuit


Recently we have had a problem with a circuit breaker flipping in our house. I have isolated the problem to an outside potting shed that has a GFI receptacle which then runs to an outside light. I replaced the GFI and hooked up the light directly( no timer) and the light works fine and no problem with the circuit. The timer has been on this light with 5 years. As soon as I place the timer back on the circuit flips again. I purchased a new timer and same problem. Suggestions please. Thanks.

P.S. The timer is installed correctly.

Advertisement

oralpath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2011, 08:09 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,974
Rewards Points: 2,044
Default

Problem with Circuit


Does the breaker have a built in GFCI or arc fault circuit interrupter?

If you press on the receptaclewhere the timer plugs in with your thumb does that trip the breaker (wires inside the box moving and shorting)?

Advertisement

__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2011, 08:25 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Problem with Circuit


Thanks for your response. The breaker is a a 20 amp standard breaker. I did see that the new GFI is a 15 amp, although the light is the only thing drawing power. Would the 15 amp GFI make a difference? Also, the breaker trips even before I push the timer back into the box.
oralpath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2011, 09:06 AM   #4
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Problem with Circuit


Just to verify. It is the circuit breaker in the panel that is tripping and not the GFCI that is in the potting shed. Does this circuit serve any other load?
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2011, 09:55 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Problem with Circuit


Correct. It is the breaker in the panel. If I hook up the wires directly( bypassing any switch or timer) the light works fine and does not trip the breaker. When I introduce the timer or switch it trips the breaker in the panel.
oralpath is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dishwasher circuit tripping magnolia Electrical 5 10-29-2010 10:59 PM
Changing a 3 way circuit...using recessed lighting box as a junction box? Oxymoron Electrical 1 12-07-2009 07:46 PM
Just for fun Andy in ATL Electrical 56 10-20-2009 10:33 AM
Trane XE 80 Problem Espy HVAC 2 11-18-2008 06:31 PM
Circuit out but circuit breaker didn't trip PaulenAndrew Electrical 17 08-16-2008 09:38 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.
<--
-->