Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-16-2012, 11:48 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 31
Share |
Default

prewired alarm system


Hi,
I have an alarm system that was prewired... I am in the process of automating the house but I am trying to set up 2 wireless webcams as well, now the problem is that I don't have any pre-wired spots so the wires would be hanging in front of the wall, which makes it not nice to look at and not safe... I do have motion sensors where I want to put the webcams and I was wondering if there is a way to tap into those lines to power the security cameras?

indep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2012, 07:04 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: WV
Posts: 2,868
Default

prewired alarm system


Use Wiremold (or similar) to cover the exposed wires. It's not expensive. Comes in various colors or can be painted.

md2lgyk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2012, 11:07 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,497
Default

prewired alarm system


You would need to know the power specifications of the motion sensors as well as the cameras - For example 12 volts DC. If they are the same, then they would use the same *voltage*.

Next you would need to know the *amperage* draw of both and the size of wire used for the motion sensors power. Determine if that wire size had the capacity of powering both at the same time.

And the amperage capacity of your alarm control unit to determine if that had the capacity to power *all* of these devices - there is a limit.

And lastly you would need to know *which* wires going to the motion sensor(s) were for power and which was positive (+) and which was negative (-).

If you don't know anything about all the above, then you are best to separately power the cameras, then you will not risk causing damage to your security system.
Billy_Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
question about fire sprinker alarm system joshik Plumbing 3 12-15-2012 04:10 AM
Wired alarm system Cdessel Electrical 2 11-08-2011 08:15 AM
Wood Stove, and Furnace hot water system shendog HVAC 7 10-04-2010 09:30 PM
Is 1/2 Pex more restrictive than 1/2 copper? twilightcall Plumbing 19 06-24-2008 07:32 AM
Size A/C system properly 70stang HVAC 1 03-26-2006 07:22 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.