Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-17-2011, 01:43 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 2
Share |
Question

Preparing for Inspection - I pulled the permit


Hello,
I pulled the electrical permit to remodel my home -- Repair some damage to bed/bath areas of the home and upgrade the kitchen. So, I've completed most of the work and now wonder if I have done more than I should have at this point in the process, so maybe you all that have been through this can tell me. I am getting building and electrical inspections

I understand that there will be 2 inspections: the first electrical inspection will be to check the wiring that I have done (before the sheetrock is put back up) and the 2nd electrical will be once everything is completely done.

So, here are my questions for preparing for the initial electrical inspection:

1) For the ceiling fixtures that I put up, can those already be wired in, or do I have to leave the wires unconnected and hanging out of the ceiling by the fixture?

2) Do I schedule the building (framing) inspection before the electrical inspection or after (I thought they said to call for the electrical first).

3) Wires connecting to receptacles/swithces - my understanding is that the outer plastic sheathing is to be off (last few inches) but that the black/white/ground/etc should not be connected to the switch/receptacle - is that correct (next qustion is related)

4) If I mistakenly had already connected receptacles/switches, when I remove the receptacles/switches to prepare for inspection (see question 3) , do I have to use a wire nut now to cap off the ends of my white/black/ground/etc wires?

5) any other advice?

Thanks,
DIYer

diy2morrow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2011, 02:08 PM   #2
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 13,842
Default

Preparing for Inspection - I pulled the permit


What did your local code office tell you when you picked up their packet after applying for the permit?

gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2011, 02:57 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 2
Default

Preparing for Inspection - I pulled the permit


they were not too helpful. The attitude was: you passed the exam, you should know. My posted questions indicate what I believed to be the answer if I sort of had one.
diy2morrow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2011, 02:58 PM   #4
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,783
Default

Preparing for Inspection - I pulled the permit


The order of inspections really doesn't matter as long as they are done BEFORE insulation and drywall covers everything up. Devices and fixtures go in after drywall and painting.
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2011, 03:14 PM   #5
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Default

Preparing for Inspection - I pulled the permit


Quote:
Originally Posted by diy2morrow View Post
Hello,
I pulled the electrical permit to remodel my home -- Repair some damage to bed/bath areas of the home and upgrade the kitchen. So, I've completed most of the work and now wonder if I have done more than I should have at this point in the process, so maybe you all that have been through this can tell me. I am getting building and electrical inspections

I understand that there will be 2 inspections: the first electrical inspection will be to check the wiring that I have done (before the sheetrock is put back up) and the 2nd electrical will be once everything is completely done.

So, here are my questions for preparing for the initial electrical inspection:

1) For the ceiling fixtures that I put up, can those already be wired in, or do I have to leave the wires unconnected and hanging out of the ceiling by the fixture?

Fixtures should not have been installed, use pigtail light sockets.

2) Do I schedule the building (framing) inspection before the electrical inspection or after (I thought they said to call for the electrical first).

You should not install wires before framing unless you are sure that you will pass.

3) Wires connecting to receptacles/swithces - my understanding is that the outer plastic sheathing is to be off (last few inches) but that the black/white/ground/etc should not be connected to the switch/receptacle - is that correct (next qustion is related)

Strip and make up all grounds.

4) If I mistakenly had already connected receptacles/switches, when I remove the receptacles/switches to prepare for inspection (see question 3) , do I have to use a wire nut now to cap off the ends of my white/black/ground/etc wires?

All electric has to be made safe before inspection. If circuit is dead you do not need wirenuts.

5) any other advice?

Make up all you boxes, trim out will much easier. Mark all necessary wires, switch legs, travelers, GFFI feeds...etc

Thanks,
DIYer
Good luck on your project.
Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
inspection prepare


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DIY Electrical. Permit, Inspection, Liability Concerns Stemboat Electrical 13 08-01-2010 04:21 PM
Basement ceiling height & Permit troubles mayo302 Building & Construction 5 06-04-2010 09:21 PM
Basement Renovation Question KUIPORNG Remodeling 234 08-26-2008 08:19 AM
No Permit for my Porch and Deck jokiddjr Building & Construction 15 06-13-2007 10:34 AM
Permit not pulled for add'l Sqr Footage Colorado mrbizee Building & Construction 9 11-18-2006 09:59 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.