DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum (http://www.diychatroom.com/)
-   Electrical (http://www.diychatroom.com/f18/)
-   -   preparing for inspection (http://www.diychatroom.com/f18/preparing-inspection-18668/)

brackh 03-18-2008 08:49 AM

preparing for inspection
 
So I have gotten much advice from many posters on here and I am taking my time to get ready for my rough in inspection. I have decided to put in a new breaker for the circuit I am wiring. I have run all my wire for my outlets and have run wiring to the breaker box. Although I have not connected the wiring at the breaker box yet.

My question is at what point do I connect it to the breaker box? I was unsure if I did that before or after the rough in inspection.

CowboyAndy 03-18-2008 08:52 AM

I would leave it disconnected from the breaker for rough in, especially with no devices installed on the circuit. You dont want to take the chance of someone flipping it on.

The inspector should be checking the connections in the panel at final inspection.

Speedy Petey 03-18-2008 10:03 AM

It is a good idea to do as Cowboy suggests.
Make up the grounds and neutrals but leave the hots OFF the breakers until the end.

CowboyAndy 03-18-2008 10:43 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Speedy Petey (Post 108760)
It is a good idea to do as Cowboy suggests.
Make up the grounds and neutrals but leave the hots OFF the breakers until the end.

Is that common?

I usually don't even have the cable entering the panel at rough in...

Speedy Petey 03-18-2008 10:44 AM

For me it is. :thumbsup:

CowboyAndy 03-18-2008 10:56 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Speedy Petey (Post 108769)
For me it is. :thumbsup:

I guess I just prefer to do all my work in the panel all at once.

But, to each his own...

J. V. 03-18-2008 11:11 AM

Where I live we are required to have the breaker panel completed and all devices installed, including recepts, discos and switches. We usually leave recepts and switches hanging out of their boxes. This inspection is done before the rock hangers start. Then only a final is left. Two inspections only. We can't get the meter until the final, so we have no issues with safety.

Stubbie 03-18-2008 11:14 AM

Well I suppose it differs from state to state but I'm not sure how you pass rough in without all cables fastened and entering all device boxes, outlets, and enclosures. It wouldn't fly here.
You have always done it this way for your customers before roughin check or was this a homeowner job your speaking to?

Speedy Petey 03-18-2008 11:19 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by J. V. (Post 108779)
Where I live we are required to have the breaker panel completed and all devices installed, including recepts, discos and switches. We usually leave recepts and switches hanging out of their boxes.

This is for a rough inspection??? Sorry, but to me this is absurd!

CowboyAndy 03-18-2008 11:46 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Stubbie (Post 108780)
Well I suppose it differs from state to state but I'm not sure how you pass rough in without all cables fastened and entering all device boxes, outlets, and enclosures. It wouldn't fly here.
You have always done it this way for your customers before roughin check or was this a homeowner job your speaking to?

I am not a professional, nor do I do work for other people (except for my brother in his new house and my father in law), but I have rewired my whole house one room at a time so I have had a few inspections now (each room individually) and everytime has been the same.

All wiring into their boxes, stapled, etc. At the panel, the cable gets stapled in place almost up to the panel, then just hangs out untill after rough inspection. Then, once rock is up, devices get terminated and the cable(s) get terminated in the panel.

This is the way I did it in my house, my brothers house and my father in law did it the same way. Various inspectors were used, and none of them said anything about.... even the pickiest one (who actually used a tape measure to make sure cables were stapled within the proper distance).

Stubbie 03-18-2008 12:06 PM

Ok that's fair enough but I think you see my point considering everything else that occurs after your rough in check.
As for JV I'd hate to be a drywaller in your state....:)

jerryh3 03-18-2008 01:28 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Stubbie (Post 108795)
Ok that's fair enough but I think you see my point considering everything else that occurs after your rough in check.
As for JV I'd hate to be a drywaller in your state....:)

That's what I was thinking. How can they hang drywall with all of the devices connected? Here, in central MD, the POCO will put the meter on after the rough inspection with a single outlet next to the breaker box for construction use (at least for new homes).

frenchelectrican 03-18-2008 01:42 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by J. V. (Post 108779)
Where I live we are required to have the breaker panel completed and all devices installed, including recepts, discos and switches. We usually leave recepts and switches hanging out of their boxes. This inspection is done before the rock hangers start. Then only a final is left. Two inspections only. We can't get the meter until the final, so we have no issues with safety.


I hate to do this but i will never go this :censored: route at all. I know some of the rockers did a good job destory some of the switches and repectales along the way.

in my area it will not freaking fly like this.

I am with speedy pete with this matter

My inspector will not let us hook up any devices in rough stage until he go over with it once the rough inspection is done and the rocker done with it then i do go back and do the trim up.

Merci, Marc

steve1234 03-18-2008 02:45 PM

I'm doing a remodel in Northern CA, and getting ready for a rough-in inspection (btw, I am not an electrician). We are living in the house so our panel is live. I called the inspector and asked your exact question. Their response:

1st choice: panel made up, hots landed on breakers....but must have wire nuts on all the conductors in the boxes throughout the house. He went further to explain that they understand that is a lot of extra work (wire nuts), so he said they are also perfectly fine with 2nd choice....

2nd choice: grnds and neutrals connected, breakers in & labeled. Hots labeled but not landed. Non-landed hots must have wire nuts in the panel.

Boxes made up and ready for devices.
Everything stapled / supported.
nail plates where needed.

Leah Frances 03-18-2008 05:04 PM

The easiest way to find out when (and what) you should have connected for your rough in is to call the inspector before you request your inspection and ask him (or her - I am sure there have to be some female inspectors out there - can I get a what!what!).

Inspections in my locality are performed by a third-party company (MDIA). Their receptionist advised me that the inspectors are happy to talk to HOs anonymously about inspections. She also gave me the hint that 7:30am was the best time to talk to the inspector!

I called the next day at 7:35 and asked the inspector a) what did he expect to see; and b) what were the most common reasons for failure. I tried to keep my questions specific and to the point. I also tried not to spend too much of his time.

He was nice, told me to make up my grounds and make sure I used nail guards.

Good luck!


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:09 AM.