DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum (http://www.diychatroom.com/)
-   Electrical (http://www.diychatroom.com/f18/)
-   -   Preparing for eletrical rough inspection? (http://www.diychatroom.com/f18/preparing-eletrical-rough-inspection-35255/)

gone_fishing 01-06-2009 02:01 PM

Preparing for eletrical rough inspection?
 
I am renovating my garage into 1/2 home office and 1/2 garage. I rewired the entire garage bringing it up code. I want to make sure I am prepared for the inspection...I stapled the wires, made sure the circuit was easy to understand and clean. I am a beginner so I connected the switches and outlets. What should I look for to make sure I am ready?

InPhase277 01-06-2009 02:36 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by gone_fishing (Post 208086)
I am renovating my garage into 1/2 home office and 1/2 garage. I rewired the entire garage bringing it up code. I want to make sure I am prepared for the inspection...I stapled the wires, made sure the circuit was easy to understand and clean. I am a beginner so I connected the switches and outlets. What should I look for to make sure I am ready?

You should probably leave the switches and receptacles out as the inspector may want to see inside the box. A few pointers would be to make sure the cables are stapled within 8" of the box and at least 1-1/4" from the edge of the stud.

HandyPete 01-06-2009 06:35 PM

Being your a beginner, I would suggest not connecting anything. Let the inspector see as much as possible. Electricians will usually wrap the wires in a way that shows what the connections will be.

Ask questions and LISTEN very closely, I'm all for DIY'ers but, bringing the "entire" garage "up to code" is not exactly a beginners task.

-pete

frenchelectrican 01-06-2009 06:49 PM

AFAIK most inspectors will like to leave the switch or devices off for rough in and make sure you run proper GFCI / AFCI { in your office space if the codes required it }

And make sure you don't overcrowed the junction box at all.

Merci,Marc

jamiedolan 01-06-2009 07:36 PM

Why not post detailed photos of your project. The folks you already had respond to this message are very sharp and it would likely be very helpful for you to let them see your work.
Jamie

gone_fishing 01-06-2009 07:57 PM

By "up to code" I mean that many of the wires were running on the outside of the drywall and not secured properly. There was also no GFCI outlets in the garage, 20 amp circuits run with 14/2 wire with 15 amp outlets, and the entire system was overloaded. I will take pictures and post asap.

Leah Frances 01-06-2009 08:19 PM

Call up the inspection office. Ask the person who answers the phone when is a good time to ask the inspector questions (around here it's 7:15am!). Call up the inspector at the appointed time and ask him some questions. I was ballsy enough to tell him my name, that I was a DIYer, and that I was anxious about insuring I did things correctly.

Before my rough in I asked (amongst other things):
1. What do you look for? He said make sure all grounds are done up.
2. What is the most common mistake homeowners make? HE said not insuring 1 1/4 inches.

When he came for my inspection he looked over some of my rec boxes and Jboxes and asked me some questions about my general knowledge. Now I have a relationship with him - :wink:.

All and all you can put me in the glad-I-did-it-but-it-scared-the-hell-out-of-me-before-I-did-it column.

jamiedolan 01-06-2009 08:23 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Leah Frances (Post 208283)
2. What is the most common mistake homeowners make? HE said not insuring 1 1/4 inches.



Hun? What was he talking about when he said that?

Jamie

Plumbvoltage 01-06-2009 09:21 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jamiedolan (Post 208287)
Hun? What was he talking about when he said that?

Jamie

That the cables are secured 1 1/4" back from the edge of the stud.

J. V. 01-07-2009 12:33 PM

Leave the switches and recepts connected, but leave them hanging out. Don't remove all of them, just one or two per room should be enough for the inspector.
Inspectors are like anyone else. If they see a violation right away, they are certain to find more. Make sure you do the walk through with him so he can point out any issues. Relax, it's not like going to the dentist.

jerryh3 01-07-2009 12:38 PM

You shouldn't connect the devices before the drywall is installed anyway. The drywall install is much easier without the devices installed.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:23 PM.


Copyright 2003-2014 Escalate Media LP. All Rights Reserved