Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-23-2008, 06:34 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Powering a 50A 220V outdoor swimspa


Hello,
I am running 220V about 100ft underground to power a swimspa (integral GFCI). I plan to run #6 underground rated wires. Two hots, neutral and a ground. I plan to use 1 inch PVC (rated for underground) buried about 16-18 inches deep. The trench does not run under driveways, sidewalks etc. There will be two 45 deg bends plus a 90 degree where the conduit rises out of the ground just outside the breaker panel.
My current panel has a 100A main breaker, a 30A breaker for a dryer - not used.
Question 1. Can I substitute a 50A 220V breaker for the 30A current dryer breaker - disconnecting it from the laundry? If not, can I increase the main breaker to say 120 or 150A. ( At some point in the future I'm replacing my 220V electric range with a gas range. Currently there is a 40A breaker connected to the electric range. )
Question 2. Any advice on my plan for running the wiring underground etc.? e.g. should I assemble the full 100ft and pull the wires with a snake or pull part way breaking at one of the 45's?
thanks very much,
Bob

firisland1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2008, 09:53 PM   #2
Member
 
dSilanskas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Posts: 474
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Powering a 50A 220V outdoor swimspa


Quote:
Originally Posted by firisland1 View Post
Hello,
I am running 220V about 100ft underground to power a swimspa (integral GFCI). I plan to run #6 underground rated wires. Two hots, neutral and a ground. I plan to use 1 inch PVC (rated for underground) buried about 16-18 inches deep. The trench does not run under driveways, sidewalks etc. There will be two 45 deg bends plus a 90 degree where the conduit rises out of the ground just outside the breaker panel.
My current panel has a 100A main breaker, a 30A breaker for a dryer - not used.
Question 1. Can I substitute a 50A 220V breaker for the 30A current dryer breaker - disconnecting it from the laundry? If not, can I increase the main breaker to say 120 or 150A. ( At some point in the future I'm replacing my 220V electric range with a gas range. Currently there is a 40A breaker connected to the electric range. )
Question 2. Any advice on my plan for running the wiring underground etc.? e.g. should I assemble the full 100ft and pull the wires with a snake or pull part way breaking at one of the 45's?
thanks very much,
Bob

Question 1. You can remove the double pole 30 amp breaker and install a double pole 50 amp breaker sure.

Question 2. I would pipe it the whole way and push a snake through the pipe to bring the wires in. But if your using 1" PVC you are only allowed to install 3 # 6's in 1" PVC. So your pull might be a little hard you should make it easier for yourself and up to code and increase the pipe size to 1 1/4" PVC

dSilanskas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2008, 11:43 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Apple Valley, MN, USA
Posts: 1,002
Rewards Points: 506
Send a message via AIM to theatretch85
Default

Powering a 50A 220V outdoor swimspa


Quote:
Originally Posted by dSilanskas View Post
Question 2. I would pipe it the whole way and push a snake through the pipe to bring the wires in. But if your using 1" PVC you are only allowed to install 3 # 6's in 1" PVC. So your pull might be a little hard you should make it easier for yourself and up to code and increase the pipe size to 1 1/4" PVC
Where did you get this information? 3 #6's in 1" PVC? I don't see why 1" PVC would not be acceptable for this application. If the pulling the wire is in any way difficult, get some pulling lubricant for the wires. Just to be sure, your'e using the gray electrical PVC, not the white plumbing PVC.
theatretch85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2008, 11:56 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 40
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Powering a 50A 220V outdoor swimspa


this chart says you can use 1" SCH 40 for up to 6 #6 wires.
http://www.jhlarson.com/ind_tables/fill/pvcfill.htm

I believe code is 18" underground, so make sure it is at least that.
joey b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2008, 12:19 AM   #5
DIY'er
 
jamiedolan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,032
Rewards Points: 1,000
Blog Entries: 2
Default

Powering a 50A 220V outdoor swimspa


Quote:
Originally Posted by dSilanskas View Post
Question 1. You can remove the double pole 30 amp breaker and install a double pole 50 amp breaker sure.

Question 2. I would pipe it the whole way and push a snake through the pipe to bring the wires in. But if your using 1" PVC you are only allowed to install 3 # 6's in 1" PVC. So your pull might be a little hard you should make it easier for yourself and up to code and increase the pipe size to 1 1/4" PVC
I see .0507 for a 6 gage thhn. And .314 for 1" ENT @ 40%. Even if you run size the ground the same and run it as # 6, I get a total of .2028

I agree 1.25" is a easier pull, but it does not appear to me that it is required.

Is there something I am missing?

Jamie
jamiedolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2008, 06:29 AM   #6
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,877
Rewards Points: 2,108
Default

Powering a 50A 220V outdoor swimspa


I never use 1-1/4" for a 50-60 amp spa circuit. I use 1", and I do a lot of spas.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2008, 07:30 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Powering a 50A 220V outdoor swimspa


Thanks to all for the great replies.
Regarding depth. Somewhere I'd read that if using underground rated GREY pvc and NOT under driveways as my run will be - that 12 inches depth was sufficient. Could someone please check this out ( I'm 16-17 inches down now and its REAL HARD ).
Bob
firisland1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2008, 07:58 PM   #8
DIY'er
 
jamiedolan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,032
Rewards Points: 1,000
Blog Entries: 2
Default

Powering a 50A 220V outdoor swimspa


Quote:
Originally Posted by firisland1 View Post
Thanks to all for the great replies.
Regarding depth. Somewhere I'd read that if using underground rated GREY pvc and NOT under driveways as my run will be - that 12 inches depth was sufficient. Could someone please check this out ( I'm 16-17 inches down now and its REAL HARD ).
Bob
The way I read it, it is 18".

NEC - 2005:

Section 680.20 Pools

Table 680.10 Minimum Burial Depths
Minimum Burial:

Nonmetallic raceways
listed for direct burial
without concrete
18"


IMC and RMC can be burried at a depth of 6" accourding to the same table. Both IMC and RMC are threaded thick walled metal conduit, IMC is lighter than RMC. RMC is very very heavy and very expensive. I have not noticed IMC at the big box stores. I am pretty sure it is RMC that they stock at most big box stores since that is what is used for masthead runs.

Jamie
jamiedolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2008, 11:36 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,510
Rewards Points: 2,008
Default

Powering a 50A 220V outdoor swimspa


One inch PVC conduit will hold much more than you need. That makes it the perfect size for you.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2008, 07:51 PM   #10
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Powering a 50A 220V outdoor swimspa


My SOP is used 1 inch PVC conduit { both sheule 40 and 80 }
with #6 THHN/THWN indiviual conductors.

Bury them at 18 inch { 500mm } or deeper ya will be fine.

Merci,Marc

frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring a single pole switch into a 220v circuit rlmorgan Electrical 38 10-15-2008 08:59 PM
Convert 220V to 110V wrldruler Electrical 13 09-15-2008 12:55 PM
220V Wiring Mdbuilder Electrical 18 07-11-2008 12:14 AM
220V Washer 3-pronged to 220V dryer-outlet Primergy Electrical 19 03-27-2008 11:40 PM
question about 220V cd player vs 120V sdipiet@msn.com Electrical 2 11-25-2007 04:23 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.