Powered Outlet On Table Saw Outfeed Table? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-11-2010, 06:49 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 100
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Powered outlet on table saw outfeed table?


Hi,
So I got a new table saw. It runs off a standard 15 amp circuit. I then built an outfeed table for it. What I would like to do is have a powered outlet on the outfeed table that I can use to plug in the saw.

My idea had been to simply get a 20 amp extension cord, cut the end, run it into a two gang box to a switch, and then jump from that switch to an outlet in the second slot in the box and then mount this box to my table.

Now, this is what I had hoped to do. I recognize there may be some questionable things in this plan so I turn to you all for advice as to what parts of my above plane are terrible.

Thanks for all advice.

Brian

Advertisement

b_corwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2010, 09:40 PM   #2
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto Ontario
Posts: 1,165
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Powered outlet on table saw outfeed table?


There may or may not be 100 different reason as per code why this isn't acceptable. I've never really looked into what the rules are on rigging something like this up being as it's not part of the house wiring but altering a device's wiring. I know exactly what your trying to do though. You'll leave your saw on at all times and use the installed switch to turn the saw on and off correct? I would use an approved switch for the saw motors rated HP(special switches for motors)so it'll handle getting turned on and off better. My grandfather used a setup in his woodshop with just a standard SP switch and had to replace it fairly often as it would wear out. Another idea would be to bypass the plug all together and just hard wire the saw to the motor switch...either or. Any places where the wiring will be subject to any abuse i would use Armoured cable(with ground).

Advertisement

andrew79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2010, 10:22 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 100
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Powered outlet on table saw outfeed table?


well im not really intending to leave the saw on at all times and use it as the main switch. I just want to have the outlet on the table so that i can have access to power there for things such as air compressors in addition to the saw itself. So i guess im not as worried about the life of the switch as it wont be used as the sole switch on the saw.

I am pretty sure I have seen stuff like this done many times. Perhaps I can use some sort of a glanded entry into a box.

B
b_corwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2010, 10:27 PM   #4
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto Ontario
Posts: 1,165
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Powered outlet on table saw outfeed table?


Quote:
Originally Posted by b_corwin View Post
well im not really intending to leave the saw on at all times and use it as the main switch. I just want to have the outlet on the table so that i can have access to power there for things such as air compressors in addition to the saw itself. So i guess im not as worried about the life of the switch as it wont be used as the sole switch on the saw.

I am pretty sure I have seen stuff like this done many times. Perhaps I can use some sort of a glanded entry into a box.

B
sure....i don't see why not. Use a utility box that's rated for surface use and go to town .
andrew79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2010, 10:38 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Powered outlet on table saw outfeed table?


Use a GFCI for this extra outlet?
Fuse the line separately with a 15A fuse?
Use abrasion-resistant cord?

I'd think you'll still be safe if you don't do any of these.

Worry more about the blade and its guard. Hand surgeons charge between one and four kilobucks per hour.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2010, 10:41 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,976
Rewards Points: 2,048
Default

Powered outlet on table saw outfeed table?


You are not altering any devices other than an extension cord, namely cutting the receptacle end off of it and connecting up something of your choice (a junction box).

You can buy power strip extension cords that have a switch to control their receptacles so you don't need to alter anything, just mount the power strip receptacle block to your table.
__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2010, 10:42 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Powered outlet on table saw outfeed table?


I've seen a setup like this online somewhere before
They pretty much did what you stated

Are you saying the switch will control both plugs on the outlet ?
You might want one live all the time
I always have a radio around...or a light..or something
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2010, 10:51 PM   #8
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto Ontario
Posts: 1,165
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Powered outlet on table saw outfeed table?


doing reno with no music is just not normal
andrew79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2010, 12:18 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 780
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Powered outlet on table saw outfeed table?


One thing I would suggest is to use a compression fitting on the box rather than a BX connector to secure the cord and use 2 switch/receptacle units so you still have 2 outlets each controlled by it's own switch. I would also recommend you make your own shop extension cord using SO cord.
hayewe farm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2010, 12:50 AM   #10
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Powered outlet on table saw outfeed table?


Quote:
Originally Posted by hayewe farm View Post
One thing I would suggest is to use a compression fitting on the box rather than a BX connector to secure the cord .
I think I understand the justification for this and if it's to keep the sawdust out, I would also suggest a bell box with weatherproof recep covers to prevent the sawdust from entering there as well. You can also get a weatherproof switch cover so you prevent sawdust from entering the switch as well.

just let me at this thing. I can easily turn a $20 project into a $200 project in no time flat.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2010, 10:48 AM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 100
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Powered outlet on table saw outfeed table?


Thanks everyone,
I was pretty sure I had seen this type of setup before, but the wife wasnt so sure it was a sound plan.

I think I may just find a 3 gang box and have two outlets and a switch one outlet always on and one outlet switched.

Thanks,
B
b_corwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2010, 07:23 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 100
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Powered outlet on table saw outfeed table?


here is what I ended up with. Don't have the extension cord yet but this will be mounted off the side of the outfeed table.

just a four gang box with a hole drilled in one slot to take a nm cable clamp and two outlets and a switch.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/49238070@N03/4515749869/


Advertisement

b_corwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring a GFCI Outdoor Outlet from an Inside Outlet - Parallel or Series? Pacal Electrical 28 11-13-2010 04:36 PM
Just for fun Andy in ATL Electrical 56 10-20-2009 10:33 AM
Table Saw Outfeed Table MT Stringer Project Showcase 0 08-02-2009 09:32 PM
Question about table saws,... tribaloverkill Tools 28 04-13-2007 09:47 AM
European 220V outlet "Schuko" estophile Electrical 6 08-27-2005 09:45 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts