Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-26-2012, 12:16 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 3
Share |
Default

power transfer switch with circuit breakers


Hi there,

I'm in the process of designing a battery backup system for critical circuits in my house.

I'm currently searching for the most appropriate automatic transfer switch and secondary breaker box.

Ideally what I would like to find is a combo ATS and breaker box all-in-one, but so far this has alluded me.

The transfer switch I have in mind is the Aimes 3-way transfer switch

http://www.aimscorp.net/transfer-switches/

This one can switch between a battery backup, and a generator, and of course grid power ... and switch within milliseconds so voltage levels don't fluctuate too much.

This is the primary goal of the whole system.

If anyone can recommend a transfer switch / breaker box that his these kind of features I would be most grateful.

thx

-Sheldon

slyttle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2012, 02:39 PM   #2
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,461
Default

power transfer switch with circuit breakers


The proper solution is to always run the critical loads through the UPS so that power failure does not interrupt the loads. That is the purpose of the UPS(Uninterpretable Power Supply). Then the generator takes over the grid power to the UPS supply before the batteries run down.

__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2012, 03:45 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 3
Default

power transfer switch with circuit breakers


yes, but I am basically building the UPS and the transfer switch and breakers are part of that.

ie. I have 600 amp hours worth of batteries, a 3000W inverter and a separate charger that plugs into grid power ... now I need an transfer switch, and that will basically completes the 'UPS' ... but I would rather have the transfer switch built into the breaker box so I don't have to buy the two separately.

Maybe such a thing doesn't exist. ... not sure.

Last edited by slyttle; 11-26-2012 at 08:58 PM.
slyttle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2012, 09:14 PM   #4
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,461
Default

power transfer switch with circuit breakers


Run the output off the inverter. The charger needs to be large enough to feed the inverter and charge the batteries. Power goes off and the batteries take the load instead of the charger.
You are trying to reinvent the UPS.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to joed For This Useful Post:
mpoulton (11-26-2012), slyttle (11-26-2012)
Old 11-26-2012, 11:32 PM   #5
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,547
Default

power transfer switch with circuit breakers


To clarify, you do not want or need a transfer switch. The transfer isn't fast enough to keep critical loads up. You run a subpanel off the output of the inverter at all times, and put the critical loads on that panel. When power fails, the only change is that the batteries stop charging and start discharging. Make sure your charger is capable of handling at least the average load of the inverter, plus about 50% minimum overhead (to account for the inefficiency of the batteries and the inverter). So if your average load is 2kW, you need a 3kW charger at the absolute minimum.
__________________
I am a lawyer, but not your lawyer. And who cares anyways? We're here to talk construction. This is DIY advice, not legal advice.
mpoulton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 06:12 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 3
Default

power transfer switch with circuit breakers


Many thanks! Appreciate the advice, and this saves me some money!

slyttle is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
battery backup, breaker box, transfer switch


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
3 way switch layout has me confused crescere Electrical 5 09-08-2012 10:26 AM
Converting switch to switch & constant power outlet BCeagle08 Electrical 4 01-29-2012 09:34 PM
Generac 10KW generator and Generac RTS12EZA1 transfer switch. exhdo1 Electrical 8 11-30-2011 02:33 PM
Help! Circuit breakers in trouble Circuit breakers Electrical 9 12-22-2008 12:58 PM
hooking up dryer....bronx ny code SURFBUG Appliances 6 10-14-2008 09:41 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.