Power Through Outlet To Two Single Pole Switches - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-12-2009, 12:36 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Power through outlet to two single pole switches


As the title suggests I have my power feed coming into an outlet and need to run two single pole switches off of the one. One is for the closet light and the other is for the main room's lights. I am unsure of how to do this and open to suggestions. My idea would be to wire the outlet then pigtail the two switches together ultimately hooking them to the switch. What do you think??? Help!

Advertisement

aaronmoon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2009, 01:31 AM   #2
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,341
Rewards Points: 2,652
Default

Power through outlet to two single pole switches


Try this....
Attached Thumbnails
Power through outlet to two single pole switches-2-lights.jpg  

Advertisement

__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2009, 08:29 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 7,168
Rewards Points: 2,436
Default

Power through outlet to two single pole switches


Nitpicking.

If the incoming power cable to the original outlet box is 12 gauge and this is a 20 amp circuit then you will need to use 12 gauge wire for all the wiring you add as shown above.
%
__________________
(One morning on WRKO Radio) The tub's not clean! Let's remodel the bathroom.
(One afternoon on WRKO Radio) It's time for an oil change. I'm going to trade in the car for next year's model.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Converting a single pole switch to a 3 way Rze Electrical 7 09-13-2011 12:39 PM
Converting a single pole switch to a 3 way Rze Electrical 9 05-02-2011 10:10 AM
No power to outlet Cheapmom Electrical 14 04-10-2009 02:29 PM
Can you place an electrical outlet inside pole wrap. luweee Electrical 9 03-16-2009 12:50 PM
Plugging power cord in a non-grounded outlet sil Electrical 4 10-18-2007 12:23 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts