Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-04-2012, 03:20 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 45
Share |
Default

Power Supply Question


I have an headphone amplifier that is missing a power supply, it requires 9 volt 750 mA ac, I have a 12 volt 830 mA ac power supply with the proper tip, will it work or is the 33% higher voltage, too high?


Last edited by tyhorstman; 11-04-2012 at 05:49 PM.
tyhorstman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2012, 05:25 PM   #2
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,786
Default

Power Supply Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by tyhorstman View Post
I have an headphone amplifier that is missing a power supply, it requires 9 volt 750 mA ac, I have a 12 volt 830 mA ac power supply with the proper tip, will it work or is the 25% higher voltage, too high?
That's 33% higher,and 9 volts is 9 volts not 12 volts is 9 volts.

brric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2012, 05:48 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 45
Default

Power Supply Question


Yeah, sorry about the 25 percent, brain fart. Are you saying it shouldn't be used at 12 volts?
tyhorstman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2012, 06:37 PM   #4
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Default

Power Supply Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by tyhorstman View Post
Yeah, sorry about the 25 percent, brain fart. Are you saying it shouldn't be used at 12 volts?

It may work real good for a real short time!!

Go to Radio Shack, they aren't that expensive...get the right one.
__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2012, 06:38 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Md/Pa
Posts: 944
Default

Power Supply Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by tyhorstman View Post
Are you saying it shouldn't be used at 12 volts?
It's impossible to say unless someone knows the product very well. As a general rule...don't push your luck unless you have better information.

As an example, we have a product that is listed for 9 volts but will operate just fine at 35 volts max. Another product is also listed at 9 volts but 12 volts would be pushing the limit.
zappa is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to zappa For This Useful Post:
mpoulton (11-04-2012)
Old 11-04-2012, 06:38 PM   #6
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,786
Default

Power Supply Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by tyhorstman View Post
Yeah, sorry about the 25 percent, brain fart. Are you saying it shouldn't be used at 12 volts?
Not if it requires 9 volts.
brric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2012, 06:52 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 45
Default

Power Supply Question


Yeah I didn't think I should use it but I thought I would ask. Thanks for the help I'll pick up a matching power supply at radio shack.
tyhorstman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2012, 09:01 PM   #8
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,531
Default

Power Supply Question


My guess is that it would probably work, but I wouldn't risk it unless you just don't care about destroying it. Most types of amplifiers aren't too picky about input voltage. The input voltage determines output power (indirectly, by changing gain) so it would be louder and also produce more heat. It's unlikely that there's less than a 33% voltage overhead on the components in the amp, so 12V would probably not immediately damage it. However, many "12V" power supplies have actual output voltages that are more like 14-18V when unloaded. So you could be running almost double the nominal voltage, and that might be a problem.
__________________
I am a lawyer, but not your lawyer. And who cares anyways? We're here to talk construction. This is DIY advice, not legal advice.
mpoulton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2012, 10:47 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 45
Default

Power Supply Question


Yeah this particular power supply has a voltage output of about 14.5 volts unloaded.

tyhorstman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
charging scooter battery with switching power supply cynicalceleste Electrical 7 06-07-2011 07:54 AM
Tapping CPVC supply lines for new bathroom - question NEW-B Plumbing 0 05-12-2011 09:20 AM
changing the power supply robut PC Repairs & Upgrades 4 01-08-2011 01:29 PM
12V power supply failure alarm neildawes Electrical 7 08-02-2010 09:04 PM
Electric question from power pole to unit Slocalaman Electrical 3 11-06-2008 03:23 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.