Power For A Sub-panel - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-22-2011, 01:08 PM   #16
Member
 
NAIL BENDER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: The Heartland of Texas
Posts: 31
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Power for a sub-panel


Thanks Luke,

I will run a 4th wire to the Main.

Advertisement


Last edited by NAIL BENDER; 12-22-2011 at 01:16 PM. Reason: Can't spill or spell.?
NAIL BENDER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2012, 11:04 PM   #17
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Power for a sub-panel


remember...do not let the neutral and grounding wire touch in the sub panel....the white(neutral..grounded conducotr)...floats in the sub and does not touch it...onthe other hand .the grounding wire...is bonded to the panel...and all bare wires go to it...but all white wires..that are part of 120 voltl or 120/240 volt circuit go to the floating neutral wire...good luck
marty56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2012, 08:14 AM   #18
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,258
Rewards Points: 1,012
Default

Power for a sub-panel


Slightly off-topic, but, are you running a generator indoors? Even with the door open, that is a terrible idea.
__________________
Andrew

secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2012, 03:25 PM   #19
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: maple ridge, bc
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Power for a sub-panel


Hi guys, I'm wiring a detached shop as well. My inspector told me I don't need a ground rod but if running main run in conduit (buried pvc) my ground must be insulated and same guage as my hot conductors (in my case all # 2awg). Just thought you'd like to know how we roll in the "Ridge".
supermike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2012, 01:33 AM   #20
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Power for a sub-panel


Hello, Im jumping in on this thread with very similar questions. 200 amp main panel on my house. 100 amp sub panel in shop, 140' away. 1 1/2 conduit buried between the two. Wanting to run normal shop tools: air compresser, saws, welders, etc. Can someone help me with the wire sizing/load calcs? Thanking you in advance for your input.
sawhorse1000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2012, 01:41 AM   #21
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,986
Rewards Points: 2,770
Default

Power for a sub-panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by supermike View Post
Hi guys, I'm wiring a detached shop as well. My inspector told me I don't need a ground rod but if running main run in conduit (buried pvc) my ground must be insulated and same guage as my hot conductors (in my case all # 2awg). Just thought you'd like to know how we roll in the "Ridge".
Your inspector is wrong. A grounding electrode system is required at an outbuilding unless it is served by a single circuit 250.32. The grounding conductor from the panel is not needed to be the same size as the hot conductors. It is sized according to 250.66.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2012, 08:20 AM   #22
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,258
Rewards Points: 1,012
Default

Power for a sub-panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
Your inspector is wrong. A grounding electrode system is required at an outbuilding unless it is served by a single circuit 250.32. The grounding conductor from the panel is not needed to be the same size as the hot conductors. It is sized according to 250.66.
Jim, he is in Canada.

Advertisement

__________________
Andrew

secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
new sub panel BlueBSH Electrical 11 01-22-2012 09:28 AM
Single Phase Sub Panel from 3 Phase Power supply The Quan Electrical 1 10-30-2011 07:50 AM
Project adding 3-phase power to a tenant finish project bnharbor Electrical 5 11-11-2010 06:39 AM
Multiple Panel Question theatretch85 Electrical 5 12-12-2009 06:26 AM
Melted Service Entrance Wire in Panel theatretch85 Electrical 13 08-22-2008 11:37 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts