Power On Several Circuits Comes And Goes All At Once, Never Trips Breaker - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-28-2009, 05:55 PM   #16
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,964
Rewards Points: 2,324
Default

Power on several circuits comes and goes all at once, never trips breaker


Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael H View Post
Stove comes on fine, dryer won't start at all...
I should ask if the stove is gas.
When the stove comes on, does the power come back on the circuits not working?

Advertisement

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2009, 06:40 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Power on several circuits comes and goes all at once, never trips breaker


Did you call the power company yet?

It's free ya know.

Looks like an "A" phase issue. Could be on the power company side, could be in the meter socket, could be in the main breaker/disconect outside (if you have one), could be in the main breaker inside.

IMO call POCO..... ASAP
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2009, 07:41 PM   #18
WFO
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 89
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Power on several circuits comes and goes all at once, never trips breaker


Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael H View Post
I do have some professional experience repairing appliances and electronics.

Michael
Would this include being familiar with the use of a voltmeter?

If so, start a process of elimination. Next time it happens, go to your panel box and check voltage across the two leads coming into the main (240 v) and each to ground (120v). If you don't get it at the main, it will be between there and the Poco (meter can, service drop, transformer).

If good, then check the load side of the breakers in question to ground. If it was good coming in at the main and not the breaker, the problem's somewhere in between. The leg each breaker is on alternates every other one (i.e., the top two on one leg, the next pair down on the other, and so on). If every other one is bad, most likely that leg of the main breaker is bad.
WFO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2009, 07:58 PM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Power on several circuits comes and goes all at once, never trips breaker


When you do the above have a load on the distant end of the circuit that you're tracing. 10A is better than 1A.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2009, 09:35 PM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Power on several circuits comes and goes all at once, never trips breaker


Any chance the company that installed everything is still around?
What warranty did they give you?
Possible they might check it out after the POCO for free
$6k is a hefty upgrade price
I paid less to convert to a new buried feed & 200a panel 3 years ago
Prices can vary widely.....
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2009, 12:51 AM   #21
Michael Homeowner
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Power on several circuits comes and goes all at once, never trips breaker


The company that did it gave us a 2 year warranty.... I checked with the BBB today, and their rating for the last 36 months is F.... so we won't be calling them back. The new panel would normally have new breakers, wouldn't it?

I do know how to use a voltmeter, so I will be checking that...

I am calling the power company tomorrow, they are closed on the weekend (this is definitely annoying, is it an emergency?)

The stove is electric, and it doesn't ever suffer from this problem. Turning the stove on doesn't get the power to come back on on the other circuits. The dryer won't come on at all.

When stuff comes on, it usually comes on "halfway" (dim) for 5-30 seconds before it comes on completely. Sometimes I'm trying to reset the GFCI's when this happens.
Michael H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2009, 09:11 AM   #22
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,964
Rewards Points: 2,324
Default

Power on several circuits comes and goes all at once, never trips breaker


GFCI's have nothing to do with this problem.
They work weekends so thay can help people like you.
This can eat up your electrionic equipment.
Call them whenever you need them.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2009, 09:22 AM   #23
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Dayton Ohio Area
Posts: 670
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Power on several circuits comes and goes all at once, never trips breaker


I'd imagine it is a corroded connection that was not properly lubed before being installed or corroision between the breaker and the bus bar.

I have no proof of this, just an inclination.

Advertisement

__________________
-Andrew
DIY hobbiest

Last edited by AndrewF; 06-29-2009 at 09:26 AM.
AndrewF is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts