Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-13-2012, 11:20 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Power on, Screen Off


I turn on the TV and it flickers red lights for about 10 seconds then stops, then I turn it on on again and it makes a noise, and the green power on indicator light turns on but the screen does not display anything, it stays blank. How can I fix this problem??

FlamesFanAddict is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2012, 11:38 AM   #2
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,102
Rewards Points: 2,998
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Power on, Screen Off


Call a repair person.

Not likely anyone here can help but if you give us a make and model maybe someone will able to assist you.

__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2012, 12:16 PM   #3
Hardcore DIY'er
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 67
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Power on, Screen Off


Quote:
Originally Posted by FlamesFanAddict View Post
I turn on the TV and it flickers red lights for about 10 seconds then stops, then I turn it on on again and it makes a noise, and the green power on indicator light turns on but the screen does not display anything, it stays blank. How can I fix this problem??
If its an LCD tv its most likely an issue with swollen/leaking capacitors on the control board. However its not really an "Home Improvement - Electrical" item, its more an electronics repair item. Ultimately though, I would say 80% of the failures in modern electronics are due to bad capacitors. You can dissassemble the component, identify the swollen/leaking capacitor and then order replacement ones and solder them in. This takes a little knowledge or research though. I order capacitors from digikey all the time to fix electronics. You have to match voltage amperage and style, then you need to know how to solder and make sure you put install with the correct polarity. Easier done than said.
EvilNCarnate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2012, 12:25 PM   #4
Disabled wood vet
 
titanoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: California
Posts: 1,646
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Power on, Screen Off


Unless you know what you're doing, just take it to a repair shop.
Oh. And those capacitors can knock the heck out of you.

Sent from a Samsung Galaxy SII
titanoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Water Heater blowing out Power to Entire House tbigley Electrical 5 03-02-2011 03:54 PM
Dumb electrical question about potentially overloading a power socket zapp Electrical 2 02-18-2011 10:43 AM
Power Save Device capt2 Electrical 52 02-24-2010 07:42 PM
Can I give 12V DC to power inverter through PC Power supply? inverter General DIY Discussions 3 07-06-2009 10:38 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.