Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-08-2009, 08:17 PM   #16
Member
 
Tinkerer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Lincoln University, PA
Posts: 47
Share |
Default

Power receptacles not installing "square"


If I understand your post, it's not a "plumb issue" but a problem with the face of the receptacle not being flush, or parallel, to the wall, i.e. the left side of the receptacle is further into the box then the right or vice versa. If that's the case, then Michael Keaton is right. fold the wires in an "S" shape and work the outlet in. Don't try to muscle it in or you'll break something.
Tinkerer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2009, 08:34 PM   #17
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Default

Power receptacles not installing "square"


and this is another reason to use stranded wire

I really feel sorry for all you guys that have to use solid, I really do.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2009, 09:10 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Edmonton, Alberta Canada
Posts: 777
Default

Power receptacles not installing "square"


Quote:
Originally Posted by nap View Post
and this is another reason to use stranded wire

I really feel sorry for all you guys that have to use solid, I really do.
Still trying to figure that one out when most end devices (eg. almost all fixtures, some switches) are 18awg stranded.
n0c7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2009, 09:55 PM   #19
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Default

Power receptacles not installing "square"


Quote:
Originally Posted by n0c7 View Post
Still trying to figure that one out when most end devices (eg. almost all fixtures, some switches) are 18awg stranded.
Huh?

down here, most residential builds use NM which is solid and either 14 awg or 12 awg.


Not sure what you have happening up there in the wild white north lands.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2010, 01:24 PM   #20
Member
 
LeviDIY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Rockville, MD
Posts: 288
Default

Power receptacles not installing "square"


Happy new year.. sorry I've been so tardy with these pictures, but here they are...

I didn't to take off the cover plates, but you can sorta tell the GFCI outlets are "bent" towards the left (Could this be because I'm a southpaw? )

These are only the 2 most recent culprits, most of the standard outlets around the house that I've replaced this happened to, but I was able to bend them manually once screwed into the j-box to align CLOSE to correct... the GFCI's are just too big/bulky to do this...

Power receptacles not installing "square"-img00034-20100102-1414.jpg
Power receptacles not installing "square"-img00036-20100102-1415.jpg

Is this a symptom of too much wire in the box? I like some of the suggestions earlier.. its bugging me to no end, and usually this is the final step in putting the room back together and to have it not look great is a bummer...
LeviDIY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2010, 02:23 PM   #21
Member
 
Tinkerer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Lincoln University, PA
Posts: 47
Default

Power receptacles not installing "square"


The suggestions made here will work, just remember that finesse is better than brute force & ignorance. Don't just try to jam the outlet in.

The problem with those particular outlets is that there is either wire or wire nuts bunched behind the outlet on the one side preventing it from sitting flush. As far as too much wire, hard to tell without seeing it. If there is too much wire bunched behind the receptacle, you can either re-position it to ease the installation or cut it shorter. Just be sure that cutting the wire won't cause a wire nut to be stuck behind the unit or you'll have the same problem.
Tinkerer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
receptacle, wiring


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Blown fuses while changing switches & receptacles marc_easy Electrical 9 07-05-2009 10:24 PM
Problem W/ Power after Switching Outlets... G19-Fanatic Electrical 17 08-28-2006 01:55 PM
Partial power on same fuse! joyjam Electrical 5 07-10-2005 10:23 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.