Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-08-2009, 11:04 AM   #1
Member
 
LeviDIY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Rockville, MD
Posts: 289
Rewards Points: 252
Default

Power receptacles not installing "square"


I have a maddening ongoing issue as I work through repairs throughout my place and finish the kitchen remodel..

When it comes time to screw the receptacles back onto their brackets and put the cover plates on, they always seem "out of square." Like angled or tilted.. and for me always beinging in towards the box to the right.

I push in evenly and rock back and forth and screw evenly... but I always have to almost bend the metal screw brackets to make it flush.

Am I doing something wrong? Is this common? Any techniques to correct? (Do you need pictures of what I'm talking about?) It seems worse with GFCI than standard...

LeviDIY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2009, 11:56 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Edmonton, Alberta Canada
Posts: 777
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Power receptacles not installing "square"


I usually just eyeball it and got better over time but if you're really anal you could turn the breaker off and use a 4" level vertical butt up against the receptacle while you tighten it down.

n0c7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2009, 12:53 PM   #3
Member
 
300zx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 630
Rewards Points: 500
Post

Power receptacles not installing "square"


I think a pic is in need so we can see what you are talking about. Are the boxes not flush.
300zx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2009, 01:11 PM   #4
Member
 
LeviDIY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Rockville, MD
Posts: 289
Rewards Points: 252
Default

Power receptacles not installing "square"


I'll get a picture up tonight when I get home.. but yes, this is happening not on new construction, but replacing older receptacles.
LeviDIY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2009, 01:25 PM   #5
Member
 
300zx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 630
Rewards Points: 500
Post

Power receptacles not installing "square"


Quote:
Originally Posted by LeviDIY View Post
I'll get a picture up tonight when I get home.. but yes, this is happening not on new construction, but replacing older receptacles.
Ok,Hope a pic will help out can you take a pic of rec out of box so we can see whats going on Thanks.
300zx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2009, 01:30 PM   #6
Member
 
Jay123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: North of Atlanta
Posts: 621
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Power receptacles not installing "square"


I think he's talking about the receptacle not being in plane with the wall...not plumb/level....are the top and bottom tabs of the receptable not catching the sheetrock?

They make extensions boxes if you need that much depth change...

http://www.google.com/products/catal...wAA#ps-sellers
Jay123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2009, 01:43 PM   #7
Member
 
300zx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 630
Rewards Points: 500
Post

Power receptacles not installing "square"


If that is the case then i would use these Spark Guards alot cheaper
300zx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2009, 01:51 PM   #8
Member
 
Jay123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: North of Atlanta
Posts: 621
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Power receptacles not installing "square"


can they be added to an existing box?
Jay123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2009, 01:52 PM   #9
Member
 
Jay123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: North of Atlanta
Posts: 621
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Power receptacles not installing "square"


looks like it slips right over it
Jay123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2009, 02:03 PM   #10
Member
 
300zx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 630
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Power receptacles not installing "square"


yes,they slide over the rec also.But i don't know until op post pics to see what we are dealing with.
300zx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2009, 07:29 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Power receptacles not installing "square"


Quote:
Am I doing something wrong? Is this common? Any techniques to correct?
Yes

Yes (for beginners)

Yes. Fold the wiring in an S shape behind the device. Push the device into place and square/flush it before puttin he screws in.

It takes some foreplay. You can't just jam it in there.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2009, 07:32 PM   #12
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 1,151
Rewards Points: 518
Default

Power receptacles not installing "square"


I like to put the screws in about halfway, then i push the plug in all the way, do any adjustments i need to and then put the screws all the way in.
darren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2009, 08:44 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Brooklyn, New York (NYC)
Posts: 1,124
Rewards Points: 500
Thumbs up

Power receptacles not installing "square"


Quote:
Originally Posted by 300zx View Post
I think a pic is in need so we can see what you are talking about. Are the boxes not flush.
That's the key. When the boxes are not flush. Especially on kitchen counters (backsplash) you will have problems aligning the cover and the receptacle will swing either way. But generally, it takes eye level to adjust them. The reason, GFCI receptacles are more difficult is because they are wider.
spark plug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2009, 08:59 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Brooklyn, New York (NYC)
Posts: 1,124
Rewards Points: 500
Wink

Power receptacles not installing "square"


Quote:
Originally Posted by darren View Post
I like to put the screws in about halfway, then i push the plug in all the way, do any adjustments i need to and then put the screws all the way in.
I do it like 220/221 suggested. Another small detail that might make a difference. If the wire enters the box at the top, use the lower set of screws. And the top set of screws if it enters from the bottom. That would help slide the wires back instead of squeezing them. Second thing. Set the wires all the way back and "push" the receptacle back until flush BEFORE you fasten the screws to the box. (No matter what) Don't Drink and Drive, Ever!!!
spark plug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2009, 09:04 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Power receptacles not installing "square"


I always fold the wires back into the box 1st
Then pull them back out far enough to install the device

Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
receptacle, wiring


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Blown fuses while changing switches & receptacles marc_easy Electrical 9 07-05-2009 11:24 PM
Problem W/ Power after Switching Outlets... G19-Fanatic Electrical 17 08-28-2006 02:55 PM
Partial power on same fuse! joyjam Electrical 5 07-10-2005 11:23 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.