Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 05-15-2012, 01:32 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Power Outlet that stays off when power fails

Hello,
I am not a electrician, but I figured this place would be full of great electricians that have real experience. I am setting up a home [COLOR=blue !important][COLOR=blue !important]aquarium[/COLOR][/COLOR] in my office and I have a need for a electrical outlet or power strip that will react when the power goes out at my house. Another words, if the power at my house goes out, I want the power to my aquarium to STAY OFF, even when it comes back on. I don't want a flood

Any ideas everyone?

hachadwick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2012, 02:17 PM   #2
Master Electrician

Rewards Points: 500

there's most likely a way to have it set up with a start button and a relay that controls the 120V so that when there's a power outage the relay resets and doesn't come on again until the start button is pushed. I'd have to do a google search to jog my memory but you can get a non latching relay and by using two normally open contacts and a simple pushbutton have it so that the button is pushed and the power comes on and stays on, if for any reason you need to stop it a stop button would be pushed. If at any point in time there's a power loss then the relay reverts back to it's original state which is off and stays that way until the start button is pushed again.

there's probably a way easier way to do it, or a thingamagig that home depot sells. Don't head to your local electrical supply store until some of the others chime in.

I'm here to learn too, i do mostly commercial/industrial/new construction and this place is a great way to pick up tips on residential from some good electrical minds. Excuse the spelling, my phone has a mind of it's own.
andrew79 is offline   Reply With Quote