Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-06-2012, 11:22 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,231
Share |
Question

power outlet right under a window


can a power outlet be right under a window? asking because of the possibility of window leaking.

thanks

amakarevic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2012, 11:31 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 25,570
Default

power outlet right under a window


It's done all the time.
I do it so the lady can put there Christmas candles in the windows.

joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to joecaption For This Useful Post:
amakarevic (02-06-2012)
Old 02-06-2012, 11:46 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,231
Default

power outlet right under a window


cool, thanks
amakarevic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2012, 06:41 AM   #4
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 6,756
Default

power outlet right under a window


amak....thanks for asking that question....I wanted to ask it as well.....for some reason I was thinking that you couldn't put outlets under windows.....
__________________
"The dream is free but the hustle is sold separately."

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2012, 07:23 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 978
Default

power outlet right under a window


I don't mean to sound harsh, but what does a potentially leaking window have to do with electrical installations. Think about it before responding.
jlmran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2012, 08:18 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Ohio
Posts: 156
Default

power outlet right under a window


I had a leaking window and yes there is an outlet under it. Photo to prove it.
Attached Thumbnails
power outlet right under a window-100_6032.jpg  
collegetry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2012, 01:17 PM   #7
MarginallyQualified
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Winston-Salem NC
Posts: 3,647
Default

power outlet right under a window


Quote:
Originally Posted by ddawg16 View Post
...for some reason I was thinking that you couldn't put outlets under windows.
This is probably related to use of electric baseboard...
no outlets *above* the BB = none below that window.

The 6/12 rule still applies though.
TarheelTerp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2012, 07:15 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Michigan, US
Posts: 12
Default

power outlet right under a window


The 6/12 rule still applies though.[/quote]

Pardon my ignorance, but what does 6/12 mean ? I have an older home (built in 1954). Some of the electrical has been updated, some not. I've been toying with the idea of replacing all the old with new. (The older lines are black and only have two wires; new is white with 3 wires) Any extented understanding of the Electrical Jargon would help! Thanks!!

Jilligoat
Jilligoat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2012, 07:27 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Livermore, California
Posts: 265
Default

power outlet right under a window


For most residential rooms, no spot on the wall may be more than 6 feet along the wall from an outlet, disregarding open space from doors. Thus outlets can be spaced no more than 12 feet apart.
a_lost_shadow is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to a_lost_shadow For This Useful Post:
Jilligoat (02-07-2012)
Old 02-07-2012, 07:50 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Michigan, US
Posts: 12
Default

power outlet right under a window


Quote:
Originally Posted by a_lost_shadow View Post
For most residential rooms, no spot on the wall may be more than 6 feet along the wall from an outlet, disregarding open space from doors. Thus outlets can be spaced no more than 12 feet apart.
So, outlets need to be no more than 6 feet apart? (Unless there is a door..) Would that be correct?
Jilligoat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2012, 07:55 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Livermore, California
Posts: 265
Default

power outlet right under a window


Not quite, outlets can be no more than 12 feet apart. The idea is you should be able to put a lamp with a 6 foot cord anywhere along the wall and reach an outlet (unless you hit a door).
a_lost_shadow is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to a_lost_shadow For This Useful Post:
Jilligoat (02-07-2012)
Old 02-07-2012, 07:58 PM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Michigan, US
Posts: 12
Default

power outlet right under a window


AHH!!! I see! Thanks so much!!
Jilligoat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2012, 08:03 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Livermore, California
Posts: 265
Default

power outlet right under a window


I went looking for a picture, and found a better explanation and graphic at: Receptacles and 6 foot rules
a_lost_shadow is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to a_lost_shadow For This Useful Post:
Jilligoat (02-07-2012)
Old 02-08-2012, 07:57 AM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: WV
Posts: 2,857
Default

power outlet right under a window


Just remember, the 6/12 rule is the MINIMUM number of outlets required. I always add more - you can never have too many outlets.
md2lgyk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2012, 08:32 AM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 173
Default

power outlet right under a window


Quote:
Originally Posted by md2lgyk View Post
you can never have too many outlets.
Hmmm. Would like to see an entire wall covered by outlets. That be a sight.

Minus08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
outlet


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Converting switch to switch & constant power outlet BCeagle08 Electrical 4 01-29-2012 09:34 PM
No power after trying to change outlet - Help plz! dearly23 Electrical 22 12-27-2011 01:09 PM
switch has No power, outlet has Power exc3ll3nts Electrical 1 03-21-2011 06:20 AM
Changing Two Gang Outlet to Three Gang Outlet vbullinger Electrical 9 01-10-2011 05:13 PM
No power at outlet furdur Electrical 7 12-19-2009 08:14 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.