Power Outlet Powered By 2 Circuits.. Help - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 01-20-2013, 07:53 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Power Outlet powered by 2 circuits.. Help

First off I'm a novice when it comes to electrical wiring.

So my problem is I have 2 rooms in my house that are on separate circuits in the breaker box but I have one outlet that is powered by both circuits and I believe it is causing a short and tripping the breaker.

Room 1 on circuit 1 all outlets have no power with the breaker off. No issues other than when it shorts this is the circuit that goes off.

Room 2 on circuit 2 has one outlet that has power when circuit 2 is off and circuit 1 is on. But also has power with circuit 2 on and circuit 1 off. There is 3 sets of wires running to the power outlet. The white wires are bridged then a pigtail runs to the outlet. The 2 black wire from the bottom and top is bridged with a pigtail and also has a black wire running from the other top wire that is not bridged. Both are connected to the outlet. The ground is bridged and connected to the outlet.

I'm not sure how it should be but I know that is not correct. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.

Advertisement

Last edited by Hawkbizkit; 01-20-2013 at 07:59 PM.
Hawkbizkit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 08:03 PM   #2

Rewards Points: 2,398

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hawkbizkit View Post
First off I'm a novice when it comes to electrical wiring.

So my problem is I have 2 rooms in my house that are on separate circuits in the breaker box but I have one outlet that is powered by both circuits and I believe it is causing a short and tripping the breaker.

Room 1 on circuit 1 all outlets have no power with the breaker off. No issues other than when it shorts this is the circuit that goes off.