Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 07-28-2008, 11:19 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 0
Share |

Power Outage Issue?

Hi, I am a resident of a Condo community, we had a power outage yesterday and half of the power in my condo went out. The microwave above the oven went out, the oven stayed on, the refrigerator was still on, the living room was out, 1 bedroom was out, AC was out, bathroom and one bedroom were up, hallway/washer/dryer were still on.

What could be the reason for only half of my condo going out, and some items in the kitchen were out but not others? Is it bad wiring? No fuses were blown, and the power came back up within three hours.

In addition, The microwave was down, but the stove/fridge were up, and they reside on the same side of the panel. The AC was down, 1 bedroom was down, 1 bedroom was up, and the AC was down, and they reside on the same side of the panel. This has been happening quite often during electrical storms, and these condos are brand new, about one year old. Other neighbors in the building had the same problem yesterday, half of their power was out, and the same appliances.

THanks in advance

rbjones6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2008, 11:57 AM   #2

Rewards Points: 28

Power Outage Issue?

Sounds like one of the hot leads of the main supply went out. That would make half of the breakers in the panel dead. It is not separated side to side. They alternate down each side.

joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2008, 12:03 PM   #3
Power Gen/RS Engineer

Power Outage Issue?