Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-31-2010, 09:16 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 3
Share |
Default

Power out in a room


I had a room lose electricity last night and this morning the power was back on, what happened.? I checked the switch and breaker it was okay.
I thought maybe a phase dropped out but what do I know? Weird happening


Last edited by Wilhelm; 12-31-2010 at 09:21 PM.
Wilhelm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2010, 09:57 PM   #2
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,369
Default

Power out in a room


Loose connection somewhere on the circuit. Could even be in the panel. Try something with a high current draw like a heater or the vacuum cleaner. That usually causes the problem to show up.

__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2010, 10:50 PM   #3
Oldguy
 
Rehabber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Calif (the left coast)
Posts: 498
Default

Power out in a room


I see a lot of problems with 'backstab' receptacles having poor connections. Find out which circuit breaker this room is on, turn off breaker and find out how many other outlets are on this breaker. I recommend replacing all outlets that are backstabbed.
__________________
If you think you can, or if you think you can't, you're probably right.

ASE certified master auto tech, Retired.
Rehabber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2011, 09:06 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 3
Default

Power out in a room


I think JoeD and Rehabber are on to something. These receptacles are nearly 50 years old. One thing for sure, everything is Copper no Aluminum. Will get to testing this circuit and will report back. Thanks and Happy New Year.
Wilhelm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2011, 09:21 PM   #5
DIY staff
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kane county,Illinois
Posts: 21,224
Default

Power out in a room


If you replace outlets --check each one to see if it is switched--look for the break off tabs between the power terminals on the old outlets.

It is a good habit to leave the old outlet on the floor under the newly installed ones----If you have problems you will be able to look at the old one and see if you forgot to snap off a tab.
oh'mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2011, 02:40 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 3
Default

Power out in a room


Quote:
Originally Posted by joed View Post
Loose connection somewhere on the circuit. Could even be in the panel. Try something with a high current draw like a heater or the vacuum cleaner. That usually causes the problem to show up.
I turned on most of the lights in the room hooked up the Oreck Vacum Cleaner, turned it on and nothing happened everything worked just fine.

This brings me back to my "know nothing" thought that the power company may have been the cause of what happened. (i.e.) Phase drop?
But as I said before, what do I know.

PS Maybe our Oreck is to cheap and does not have the "butt" to shut er down.
Wilhelm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2011, 03:31 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,357
Default

Power out in a room


I would still do a thorough visial inspecion of all connecttions,
look for loose connections or overheated connections,
It is possible that the power company could be responsible,
But I would check any way, to provide peace of mind.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wilhelm View Post
I turned on most of the lights in the room hooked up the Oreck Vacum Cleaner, turned it on and nothing happened everything worked just fine.

This brings me back to my "know nothing" thought that the power company may have been the cause of what happened. (i.e.) Phase drop?
But as I said before, what do I know.

PS Maybe our Oreck is to cheap and does not have the "butt" to shut er down.

dmxtothemax is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Loss of power and AFCI tripping Sacslc Electrical 14 11-14-2010 09:12 PM
Add more power to the house? (kinda long) tmtrebor Electrical 5 04-30-2010 03:19 PM
house power supply upgrade in Australia pcd1965 Electrical 3 08-22-2009 08:17 PM
Cold Room mikelbeck HVAC 14 01-16-2009 08:21 PM
Power in a server room pcampbell Electrical 1 06-24-2008 10:53 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.