Power Out In ONLY One Room...but Breaker Not Tripped - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-10-2012, 11:16 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Power Out in ONLY One Room...but breaker not tripped


Hello.

New home owner here, and my first post.

On Friday I was painting my second bedroom and all was well with the electricity. The outlets were working, lights as well, and setup everything to paint...everything went well. Paint is dry by Saturday and everything is still working as expected, electrically that is.

Yesterday evening after coming home from work, the power in this same room (second bedroom) is not working; meaning the lights and the outlets. First thing that I do is check the breaker box to see if anything is tripped. Nothing!

So, I try the room again and still nothing. I sleep on it thinking it may be just me and a long day of work. Try again today and still nothing.

Reaction - Flip the bedroom switches in the breaker box to see if that changes anything. Nothing.
Reaction - Flip every switch in the breaker box, including the main switch just in case something may happen. Nothing.

Now I'm here and frustrated. The power is out in my second bedroom, but nowhere else in the house. I'm not an electrician however am pretty handy and am good at following direction.

Your suggestions and/or help is greatly appreciated.

Thank you in advance.
-Chris

Advertisement

weber78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 11:24 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,964
Rewards Points: 2,324
Default

Power Out in ONLY One Room...but breaker not tripped


How old is the house?
To reset a breaker, you must turn it off, then back on.
Do you have push to test buttons on any breakers?
Did you removed the wall plates when you panited?

Advertisement

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 05:56 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,717
Rewards Points: 2,394
Default

Power Out in ONLY One Room...but breaker not tripped


Do you have a tester ?
Can you test for power at all the outlets, switchs & lights ?
Take note of wires and colors,
report your findings !

Have you checked for tripped gfci's ?
dmxtothemax is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 10:41 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 38
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Power Out in ONLY One Room...but breaker not tripped


You might want to test the line side of the breaker to make sure the breaker isn't defective.
RH913RH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 11:07 AM   #5
DIY Enthusiast
 
sublime2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,110
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Power Out in ONLY One Room...but breaker not tripped


Did you pull the receptacles out of the wall to paint it?
If you did,you may have caused a wire to come loose when you put them back in the box.
sublime2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 11:22 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Power Out in ONLY One Room...but breaker not tripped


I do not have a tester, but think that this would be a good thing to purchase considering I'm going to do a bit of work over the next couple years.

The house is 100 years old, but the electric was updated in the early 80s, per the previous owner.

Also, I did remove all of the covers while painting and painted around the outlets.

I'm curious to know why the power would have worked for three days (Sat, Sun, Mon) and then suddenly cut out.
weber78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 11:28 AM   #7
DIY Enthusiast
 
sublime2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,110
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Power Out in ONLY One Room...but breaker not tripped


Quote:
Originally Posted by weber78
I do not have a tester, but think that this would be a good thing to purchase considering I'm going to do a bit of work over the next couple years.

The house is 100 years old, but the electric was updated in the early 80s, per the previous owner.

Also, I did remove all of the covers while painting and painted around the outlets.

I'm curious to know why the power would have worked for three days (Sat, Sun, Mon) and then suddenly cut out.
Removing the covers could cause the outlet to come loose in turn if the receptacles are back stabbed that small amount of movement can cause a loose/ bad connection.
The connection is loose,you plug something in to the suspect outlet,that causes the outlet to move enough to create a bad connection.

Last edited by sublime2; 10-11-2012 at 11:30 AM.
sublime2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 01:06 PM   #8
Newbie
 
mysterd429's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: LI, NY
Posts: 29
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Power Out in ONLY One Room...but breaker not tripped


Congrats on your new home, Chris. I'm also a relatively new homeowner, though I've only got casual DIY experience. In figuring out what was what and troubleshooting some basic problems in our house, I found a non-contact voltage detector, a digital multimeter, and an outlet tester were all very useful. None of them are expensive. (Our house had a lot of abandoned wires, circuits that span multiple rooms without any label on the breaker box, and other minor issues.)

A non-contact voltage detector that is beeping definitely indicates power, but a voltage detector that is not beeping does not definitely rule out power. Make sure your meter is set to the correct setting and the probes are connected to the meter before testing, not the other way around.
mysterd429 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 01:25 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Power Out in ONLY One Room...but breaker not tripped


Quote:
Originally Posted by sublime2 View Post
Removing the covers could cause the outlet to come loose in turn if the receptacles are back stabbed that small amount of movement can cause a loose/ bad connection.
The connection is loose,you plug something in to the suspect outlet,that causes the outlet to move enough to create a bad connection.
Thank you. I understand that one outlet may come loose based on this; however all outlets and the overhead lights are out...which make me think that this is the entire circuit on the breaker.

I will be buying a non-contact volt detector and playing around with that.
weber78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 01:58 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Power Out in ONLY One Room...but breaker not tripped


Quote:
Originally Posted by RH913RH View Post
You might want to test the line side of the breaker to make sure the breaker isn't defective.
Can you help me understand what the 'line side of the breaker' may be?
weber78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 02:07 PM   #11
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,964
Rewards Points: 2,324
Default

Power Out in ONLY One Room...but breaker not tripped


Being a novice, I would not worry about the line side of the breaker.
Do you know which breaker controls the power to this room?
A backstabed receptacle that has a lose connection could be the first one in line from the panel, and this could be the reason the entire room is off.

Unless you know for sure which breaker, turn the main off to pull out the receptacles.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to jbfan For This Useful Post:
dougp23 (10-11-2012), sublime2 (10-11-2012), weber78 (10-11-2012)
Old 10-11-2012, 02:40 PM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Power Out in ONLY One Room...but breaker not tripped


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbfan View Post
Being a novice, I would not worry about the line side of the breaker.
Do you know which breaker controls the power to this room?
A backstabed receptacle that has a lose connection could be the first one in line from the panel, and this could be the reason the entire room is off.

Unless you know for sure which breaker, turn the main off to pull out the receptacles.
Thanks. Is there an easy way to know which connection would be the first in line from the panel?
weber78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 06:41 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,717
Rewards Points: 2,394
Default

Power Out in ONLY One Room...but breaker not tripped


Quote:
Originally Posted by weber78 View Post
Thanks. Is there an easy way to know which connection would be the first in line from the panel?
Not definately !
Thats why you might have to pull them all off,
And check all the wires for power !

But a good guess would be the one closest
to the panel.
So start there and check all wires.
dmxtothemax is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2012, 10:29 AM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 38
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Power Out in ONLY One Room...but breaker not tripped


I always like to start at SQUARE ONE when I'm checking things, so I don't chase my tail.
The line side is the terminal on the breaker to which the black or red wire is attached.
Once you know for sure that there is power there, then continue on, outlet by outlet, as other suggest, looking for a loose or disconnected wire.
Good luck.

It might also be a loose or disconnected neutral, white, in one of the boxes, so check all wire bundles, in each box, as well.

Last edited by RH913RH; 10-12-2012 at 10:34 AM.
RH913RH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2012, 03:14 PM   #15
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Power Out in ONLY One Room...but breaker not tripped


Right, leaving work early today to go play while there is still sunlight...as I'm going to kill the main breaker switch and check out each of the outlets. I'll keep you posted.

Thanks again for the advice!

Advertisement

weber78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
bedroom , breaker , electricity , newbie , no power


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No power in 1 room (3 outlets) breaker appears to be fine RR. Electrical 5 11-01-2011 07:09 PM
No power and no breaker tripped temporarily jritkes Electrical 2 06-16-2011 02:05 PM
breaker not popped but no power natrensland Electrical 29 06-11-2011 01:43 PM
Loss of power and AFCI tripping Sacslc Electrical 14 11-14-2010 10:12 PM
Lost power to half the room. imfocused Electrical 17 04-10-2010 07:10 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts