Power Off And On Issue - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 08-06-2008, 05:11 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10
Question

Power off and on issue

I'm new to this electrical thing so forgive me if my questions are dumb.

Basically I have been experiencing this annoying power off and on problem recently. Everytime the outage is only for seconds, but this resets all the digital clocks on my appliances and shuts down my computer unexpectedly. I'm not sure whether this is caused by power surge or anything else, so can someone please help shed some light on the possible cause of this and the fix? Is this something internal to my home, or it's a power company issue? I asked the neighbors and they don't seem to have this problem so I guess it's internal? But then why does it just go out for a couple seconds and come back all by itself? None of the circuit breakers are tripped and they all look normal.

Thanks for the help.

Advertisement

jimanywhere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2008, 05:28 PM   #2

Rewards Points: 250

Power off and on issue

Is there any pattern to the power going out? Does it affect the whole house, or just certain circuits?
Do you notice a lot of flickering before power goes out?
Does this happen all the time, or just on breezy days, etc?

If your neighbors aren't experiencing the problem, my first stop would be to call your power company. You might have a bad splice connection on the pole, at your service head (where the utility's wires join your service), or in the meter box or the meter itself.

Another place to look is in the main panel, the feed coming into the main breaker, and the main breaker is bolted to the main bus.