Power Or Not? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-15-2011, 10:30 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Power or not?


I have 4 recepticles on one circuit in bedroom. I check my circuit on all of the recepticles and the light comes on. If I plug anything in (I have tried a few different things) none will work in any of the circuits. Any idea what is going on?

Advertisement

wvboycleve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2011, 10:32 PM   #2
Scared Electrician
 
Saturday Cowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 715
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Power or not?


you need a plug tester, test the plugs

Advertisement

__________________
Ragged Trousered Philanthropist


Please follow the code - its there for your safety no matter how inconvenient.
Saturday Cowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2011, 11:54 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 979
Rewards Points: 502
Default

Power or not?


What is a plug tester?
jlmran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2011, 12:28 AM   #4
Scared Electrician
 
Saturday Cowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 715
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Power or not?


http://www.homedepot.com/Electrical-...atalogId=10053
__________________
Ragged Trousered Philanthropist


Please follow the code - its there for your safety no matter how inconvenient.
Saturday Cowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2011, 12:00 PM   #5
Mad Scientist
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 774
Rewards Points: 516
Default

Power or not?


What do you mean by this: "I check my circuit on all of the recepticles and the light comes on."?

Are you testing for power with one of those non-contact voltage detectors? If it's showing power at the hot slot on each outlet, than you either have a loose connection, or an open neutral.

Those voltage detectors are fairly sensitive, and will pick up power on a wire even if the connection is too loose to handle any load.

Get a plug-in tester as Saturday Cowboy suggests. If it is a case of a neutral wire being broken or disconnected somewhere, that tester will tell you.
McSteve is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2011, 12:11 PM   #6
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Power or not?


Quote:
Originally Posted by wvboycleve View Post
I have 4 recepticles on one circuit in bedroom. I check my circuit on all of the recepticles and the light comes on. If I plug anything in (I have tried a few different things) none will work in any of the circuits. Any idea what is going on?
and the light comes on.
What are you using? Is it a neon test light? These don't put much load on a circuit so a loose connection may pass enough power to illuminate the lamp but you can't tell much from this. A 100 watt bulb in the same receptacle may not light.
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2011, 08:29 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 979
Rewards Points: 502
Default

Power or not?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Saturday Cowboy
This is a receptacle tester. A plug is what is placed into a receptacle (or socket).

Advertisement


Last edited by jlmran; 03-16-2011 at 08:33 PM.
jlmran is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Outdoor Hot Tub / Overhead Power line issue scottwilliamson Electrical 3 02-12-2010 11:37 AM
Devices to save on phantom power fetzer85 Electrical 7 12-04-2009 09:03 PM
Recurring Power Oddities - Regular Schedule DamienChaos Electrical 16 10-21-2009 08:45 PM
Amp meter Results - SE Cable Bad or Power CO jamiedolan Electrical 30 01-23-2009 01:16 AM
safe way to add extension to power cord sil Electrical 7 10-18-2007 10:58 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts