Power For New 20x20 Detached Garage, NJ. - Electrical - Page 3 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-09-2014, 09:37 AM   #31
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,997
Rewards Points: 2,792
Default

Power for new 20x20 detached garage, NJ.


Quote:
Originally Posted by electures View Post
The Ufer ground is not "reguired". However, if it is available it shall be used. Ground rods are all you need.
One way this is interpreted is if the footer has rebar it is available and someone will be chipping concrete to make the connection if not done before the pour.

Advertisement

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2014, 09:52 AM   #32
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Power for new 20x20 detached garage, NJ.


Thanks for the quick reply. I'm going to start the conduit runs soon if the ground thaws enough. Part of my trench will be under a section of driveway, which is still dirt right now. Is 18" deep enough for the whole run?

I did not set the conduit into the slab.
I will be coming up outside / next to the garage wall and plan to ell through the wall as low as possible, then ell up and go into the bottom of the load center. I believe I need sch 80 at the exposed feed into the building to the panel.
Is sch 40 ok for the rest, including the run along the bottom of the floor joists in my basement to the main panel?
jtcnj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2014, 09:58 AM   #33
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: central wisconsin
Posts: 772
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Power for new 20x20 detached garage, NJ.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
One way this is interpreted is if the footer has rebar it is available and someone will be chipping concrete to make the connection if not done before the pour.
i've always approached this as a building is not 'existing' until it has an occupancy permit or in the case of a garage, a final inspection. if the concrete guys bury the rebar before the electrician can bond it, not at all unusual for the inspector to require it to be chipped away and bonded.
itsnotrequired is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2014, 12:52 PM   #34
Lic Electrical Inspector
 
electures's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Great Police State of New Jersey
Posts: 1,759
Rewards Points: 1,102
Default

Power for new 20x20 detached garage, NJ.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
One way this is interpreted is if the footer has rebar it is available and someone will be chipping concrete to make the connection if not done before the pour.
Agreed. That is why here in The Peoples State of New Jersey the building Inspector is charged with the rebar inspection.
__________________
All responses based on the 2011 NEC.
If you live in New Jersey click here. All other states click here.
Please check with local, county and state officials as laws may vary.
Sizing motors here. Online motor calculator here. Online calculators here.
electures is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2014, 07:25 PM   #35
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Power for new 20x20 detached garage, NJ.


I bumped these up from earlier posts, unless I missed a reply, could someone clarify these items:

Is the plastic threaded bushing screwed on the end of the box connect at the tops of my stubs an acceptable entry, or do i need the emt to romex clamp style connector?

When I have to run romex perpendicular across the trusses, can I staple to the top of the ceiling joist member of the truss or must (or can) I drill it? Can you drill truss assemblies at all without affecting the structural integrity?

I did not set the conduit into the slab.
I will be coming up outside / next to the garage wall and plan to ell through the wall as low as possible, then ell up and go into the bottom of the load center. I believe I need sch 80 at the exposed feed into the building to the panel.

Is sch 40 ok for the rest, including the run under the driveway and along the bottom of the floor joists in my basement to the main panel? These don't seem to be exposed to possible damage.

Do I need an expansion sleeve for the stub up from the trench to above ground, which will be probably less than 3' long?

Part of my run will be under what will be driveway, now still dirt. Since this is for a single family dwelling, is 18" depth still correct, or do I need to go 24"?

Advertisement


Last edited by jtcnj; 01-11-2014 at 05:42 AM.
jtcnj is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need help planning an electrical service upgrade to detached garage PaulTurner Electrical 2 04-05-2011 04:43 PM
wiring 100A to detached garage snowman Electrical 4 11-28-2009 05:53 PM
Subpanel - detached garage without a floor SAS Electrical 12 03-05-2009 12:42 PM
Detached garage setup - Switch loop setup jamiedolan Electrical 3 02-07-2009 01:08 PM
Light Switch to Detached Garage - Grounding Issue smitty286 Electrical 1 10-22-2008 01:17 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts