Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-29-2012, 02:03 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 1
Share |
Exclamation

power loss on one circuit in house


Lost power on one circuit in 5-br house: most of master bedroom, all of 5th bedroom, hallway light and hallway bathroom. Even though mult outlets replaced, wired properly, 3 out of 4 in each affected bedroom read "hot/ground reversed" . Circuit breaker NOT tripped. Shutting off main power for awhile did lead to restoration of power to affected areas ONLY IF hallway light was left on. Turning on bathroom light caused hallway light to become brighter. Turning on a bedroom light worked once, but a second light shut everything down again. It was also noted that the hallway light switch which has been replaced, suddenly controlled ALL the following lights : affected bathroom and affected bedrooms. Power company ruled out external or breaker box problems. No GFI outlets upstairs. Junction box in atic above these rooms appears normal. No odors or sounds from any outlets or switches......thoughts???

shanejpeters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2012, 02:26 PM   #2
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Default

power loss on one circuit in house


Re-check all recent work. You have a loose neutral somewhere....and perhaps a mis-wired circuit.

__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2012, 01:17 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,306
Default

power loss on one circuit in house


I will bet your neutral is faulty !
Start at the first thing in the line,
Check for a active hot line,
use a non contact tester !
If the hot line tests as active,
Then use a volt meter across the hot line and active line,
If this test is negative, then your neutral is bad.

If both tests are positive,
then move onto the next thing in the line
and repeat both tests.

You will soon find were the fault is !

You need to do both tests,
to test both the hot line,
and also the neutral line.

I suspect your problem lies in the neutral line.
dmxtothemax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2012, 10:39 AM   #4
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 6,756
Default

power loss on one circuit in house


How did you wire the outlets?

If you used the back-stab feature (wires pushed into clamps on the back of the outlet), then I would bet this is your problem.

Do a search on Pig Tails. That is how I prefer to wire up outlets.....unless it's the last one in a string.
__________________
"The dream is free but the hustle is sold separately."

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
electrical circuit outage


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Power strip hack salex Electrical 3 01-31-2012 06:10 AM
partail power loss in house day after storm katmar Electrical 2 07-18-2010 06:53 PM
Just for fun Andy in ATL Electrical 56 10-20-2009 09:33 AM
Attic Fan AND Whole House Fan PapaGnome HVAC 6 02-15-2009 02:28 PM
hooking up dryer....bronx ny code SURFBUG Appliances 6 10-14-2008 09:41 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.