Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 09-19-2007, 04:09 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

power line noise

Alright, first off, I'd like to let everyone know that I'm an electrical engineer, not an electrician. I'm here looking for a different perspective that might help me understand my problem.

For the last year, I've been trying to find the source of some electrical noise in my experiments. After some time, I figured out that the noise was coming from the power line. After another year, I figured out that I can mitigate the problem by using a grounded outlet. (My house is from the 50's and the only outlets that are grounded are in the garage.) However, I'm not sure if grounding was the problem, or if it just patches the problem.

In a nutshell, any part of the circuit connected to the power line (oscilloscope, transformer, power supply, etc.) injects noise into it and causes problems. If the equipment is grounded, the problem goes away. I've got some scope pictures here:
http://ratlab.dyndns.org/scope/1/
Of particular concern is the last two images. You can see some distortion in the waveform from the power line. Is that normal?

After inspecting my house, I've also discovered that my system isn't properly grounded. When everything was installed, they used the water pipes for grounding. However, the installation of a water softener (among other things) has probably disconnected the pipes from earth. I might fix that this weekend.

Right now, I'm trying to figure out if the noise I'm picking up is in the line itself (maybe that distortion that I see), or if something is radiating and grounding everything only mitigates the problem.

sciguy125 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2007, 04:50 PM   #2
Electrician philosopher

Rewards Points: 500

power line noise