Power Leading To Outlets But No Power ? - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-04-2009, 09:49 PM   #16
DIYer
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Virginia
Posts: 910
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Power leading to outlets but no power ?


Quote:
Originally Posted by s_anthony View Post
It isn't used for anything other than the fridge though and I think there's something about that being allowed somewhere.
To do it right, replace the fridge plug with a single non-duplex outlet, then install GFCIs only for the other outlets on the circuit.

Quote:
The reason I said I would hve to rewire is that cloth romex.. it is REALLY brittle and you can look at it and see that it's falling apart.
Right, that's what I expected. All the brittle stuff should go.

Quote:
Not to mention it looks like they may have extended some of the ground wire using under-gauged wire.
This is allowed in some limited circumstances, but not in general.


Quote:
I won't be running new wiring from the service panel (I don't touch it unless I have to), so it won't be grounded since I don't think the line coming from it is grounded,
This really makes me cringe. You are going to all the trouble to replace the circuits, but leaving them ungrounded. I understand your reluctance to play in the panel, but it's really not that dangerous if you are careful.

Other than violating code by effectively running new ungrounded circuits, you are missing out on a good opportunity here to improve the safety of the wiring in a big way.

Advertisement

Gigs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2009, 12:00 AM   #17
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 23
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Power leading to outlets but no power ?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Gigs View Post
Other than violating code by effectively running new ungrounded circuits, you are missing out on a good opportunity here to improve the safety of the wiring in a big way.
I know I'm violating code in general by not having an electrician do it.. We have spent a small fortune trying to get this house safer - we were really screwed when we bought it sadly. The 5 types of wiring I mentioned in my house wouldn;t be a bad thing, if they were all different circuts. Its like the guys that wired this house took bits and pieces from a job site or cut from other locations and literally "patched" them all together to make circuts..

It will be grounded just not on the same day. my plans were to run wiring from the junction box then have someone else run a new wire from the service panel to the junction box (I know how to do it and have done it before, but I confess the thing scares the crud out of me).

It would have been a grounded circut, just not on the same day .. however I've decided to just bypass the junction box and run an entire new line from the main to the kitchen. I'll only have one circut on the counter tops for right now - I will run another one once we remodel the kitchen so I meet code - right now there is another circut on the other side of the kitchen but it only has an individual outlet - which is the only power that is on right now in my kitchen. I shut the other circut off until I can do the work next weekend to replace it after seeing exactly what kind of fire hazard I was dealing with.
s_anthony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2009, 03:23 AM   #18
Tool Geek
 
PaliBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Pacific Palisades CA
Posts: 2,546
Rewards Points: 2,072
Default

Power leading to outlets but no power ?


Quote:
Originally Posted by InPhase277 View Post
I....... You cannot do good troubleshooting with a neon tester or "tweeter" screwdriver...........
What is a tweeter screwdriver?
Is it similar to the attached Pic?
If so why is it called a "tweeter"?

___________________________
...PaliBob
Attached Thumbnails
Power leading to outlets but no power ?-tester-neon-screwdriver.jpg   Power leading to outlets but no power ?-tester-twin-lead.jpg  
PaliBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2009, 10:44 AM   #19
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 1,813
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Power leading to outlets but no power ?


Quote:
Originally Posted by PaliBob View Post
What is a tweeter screwdriver?
Is it similar to the attached Pic?
If so why is it called a "tweeter"?

___________________________
...PaliBob
I was referring to the screwdriver made by GB that lights up and makes a noise when it is near something live. I call it a tweeter cause of the noise. It is just a non-contact voltage tester built into a screwdriver .
InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2009, 11:40 AM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Power leading to outlets but no power ?


Bad wiring, reminds me of my grandmother house!

You should not extend an ungrounded circuit, keep them grounded.

If you do re wire, you may need to bring the kitchen up to code (depending on your local codes, you may need 20 amps ran).

Whoever had that house before must have loved great stuff!

I'm surprised the "inspector" did not notice the problems before you bought the house.
rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2009, 12:36 PM   #21
Learning by Doing
 
Leah Frances's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Easton, Maryland
Posts: 3,156
Rewards Points: 2,000
Blog Entries: 7
Default

Power leading to outlets but no power ?


OK - I bought a 205 yo house in 2007. The wiring is a hodgepodge and includes some of the original 1890s hook-up! I am in the process of rewiring the whole-darn thing. I am removing all the old circuits and replacing them to code and permitted.

Yes, working with the service panel is intimidating for a newbie, but choosing not to do the ground properly is doing a just as much of a disservice to your family as living with the unsafe wiring. I have a house full of ungrounded outlets that were 'updated' to grounded-looking outletsby the former owner but never grounded.

I suggest you check on your HOers insurance. And keep in mind that not doing work to code can VIOLATE your policy leaving you with NO coverage.

BTW: prepurchase home inspections are not for 'passing or failing' a house; But to identify problems to the potential owner that may or may not be deal-breakers, or may or may not be issues for price negotiation. Sorry your inspector didn't mention to you that the wiring was sub-par and would need work.
__________________
If I could only remember to THINK about what I was doing before I did it.

Last edited by Leah Frances; 01-05-2009 at 12:39 PM.
Leah Frances is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2009, 12:40 PM   #22
Tool Geek
 
PaliBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Pacific Palisades CA
Posts: 2,546
Rewards Points: 2,072
Default

Power leading to outlets but no power ?


Quote:
Originally Posted by InPhase277 View Post
I was referring to the screwdriver made by GB that lights up and makes a noise when it is near something live. I call it a tweeter cause of the noise. It is just a non-contact voltage tester built into a screwdriver .
This must be a discontinued model. The current GB catalog only has an audible non contact tester without a screwdriver.
Testers.pdf (application/pdf Object)

GB has a cool new screwdriver/Voltage probe/continuity Tester 12-250V AC/DC (around $10)

The only audible testers are the non screwdriver, non countact types (2)

_______________________
PaliBob
Attached Thumbnails
Power leading to outlets but no power ?-gb-screwdriver-probe.jpg   Power leading to outlets but no power ?-gb-non-contact-tester.jpg  

Last edited by PaliBob; 01-05-2009 at 12:51 PM.
PaliBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2009, 02:08 PM   #23
DIYer
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Virginia
Posts: 910
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Power leading to outlets but no power ?


Quote:
Originally Posted by s_anthony View Post
I know I'm violating code in general by not having an electrician do it..
This isn't a code violation in most places. Not pulling a permit surely violates some local laws though.

You should still endeavor to meet the code, even if you don't plan on pulling a permit, since most of it is a very good idea.

Advertisement

Gigs is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GFI outlets and power ? CALDWELLAPARTMENTS Electrical 3 07-24-2008 06:32 AM
Power to outlets but not enough? batesrt Electrical 5 02-04-2008 10:12 PM
outlets lost power Hoegy Electrical 5 11-06-2007 03:06 PM
Wiring for switched, split power outlets ELurie Electrical 9 06-21-2007 08:12 PM
Problem W/ Power after Switching Outlets... G19-Fanatic Electrical 17 08-28-2006 02:55 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts