Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-10-2009, 04:19 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 91
Share |
Default

Power cord question


My daughter was unplugging her laptop's power cord from an outlet in her room. It's a three-prong plug and the center prong broke off and was stuck in the outlet. I was able to remove it safely, but my question is this. Can she continue to use the power cord safely with just the two remaining prongs? She would prefer to not have to buy another power cord because they're kind of pricey and hard to find for her laptop. The laptop company, Tangent, went out of business which is why the cords are hard to find. She plans to replace the laptop itself in a few more months when she graduates from college and becomes gainfully employed. (Aren't I the optimist!) Any feedback will be appreciated.

bucksone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2009, 04:24 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,697
Default

Power cord question


It is not safe to continue to use the cord.
I would replace the cord.

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2009, 04:36 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Default

Power cord question


Quote:
Originally Posted by bucksone View Post
Can she continue to use the power cord safely with just the two remaining prongs?
She'd have to be grounded, and have an internal short between the [metal] computer case and the hot side of the line for her to get a shock. If there was such a short, the computer would have tripped the breaker.
And if the now-ungrounded computer is plugged into a GFCI outlet it is even safer.

Why not just put a grounded plug on the end of the cord, available from any h/w store?
http://images.orgill.com/200x200/2849271.jpg

When you make the repair, pay attention to what color cord wires go to which prongs (ground, short slot[hot side], long slot[neutral]) of the existing plug so you can duplicate the connections. The conductor colors might be white, black and green.

Last edited by Yoyizit; 04-10-2009 at 05:00 PM.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2009, 05:01 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

Power cord question


Post a pic of the end plug
Might be a good idea to put a new end on it

The only exposed metal on my laptop is the screws that hold things together

I myself would not be concerned with using it for a few more months
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2009, 05:03 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Default

Power cord question


Quote:
Originally Posted by Scuba_Dave View Post
I myself would not be concerned with using it for a few more months
And to skip the risk lecture, don't click on the link below
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Zero-risk_bias
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2009, 05:09 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: South Western Ontario
Posts: 955
Default

Power cord question


Tangent probably was using a generic cord. If it's detachable post a pic of the machine end...if it's just a straight cord or if it's part of a battery charger it may also detach. Send us a pic and drop the model number in if you decide not to replace the plug.
Chemist1961 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2009, 05:11 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

Power cord question


Quote:
Originally Posted by Yoyizit View Post
And to skip the risk lecture, don't click on the link below
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Zero-risk_bias
I skipped it
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2009, 08:32 PM   #8
Man of many hats
 
wrangler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Florida Panhandle
Posts: 494
Default

Power cord question


I was going to repond to this, but decided, no. Lets just see where common sense leads to.
__________________
Man of many hats
wrangler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2009, 08:33 PM   #9
Member
 
Bigplanz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Louisville KY
Posts: 508
Default

Power cord question


Remember that one of the reasons there is a ground prong is to protect the circuitry. Probably not that big of a deal, but I'd just get another cord.
Bigplanz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2009, 08:45 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 780
Default

Power cord question


One of the problems with a missing ground on a computer is that the noise filtering built into the computer is no longer effective. Chances of getting shocked is very slim because the 120 vac only goes to a power supply not the body of the computer.
hayewe farm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2009, 09:02 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Default

Power cord question


Quote:
Originally Posted by hayewe farm View Post
One of the problems with a missing ground on a computer is that the noise filtering built into the computer is no longer effective.
With no ground, line to line transients should still be suppressed, but these might be in the minority.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2009, 09:07 PM   #12
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 1,813
Default

Power cord question


Come on folks! Let's be realistic. The ground on the plug likely runs to a shield around the power supply circuit board, and no further. I would say that there is ZERO electric shock hazard from this particular lost ground. The ground is likely included to reduce noise generated by the switching power supply. So without, grandma's AM radio is a little buzzy. No one is going to die if some static drowns out Rush Limbaugh.
InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2009, 09:15 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 780
Default

Power cord question


Component created electrical noise, static, and induced signals are also filtered to ground in a computer. The loss of ground removes that filtering and can lead to data corruption. Line noise is generally taken care of in the power supply. This is the only real problem with lose of ground and definitely not a safety issue for the user.
hayewe farm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2009, 09:19 PM   #14
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 1,813
Default

Power cord question


Quote:
Originally Posted by hayewe farm View Post
Component created electrical noise, static, and induced signals are also filtered to ground in a computer. The loss of ground removes that filtering and can lead to data corruption. Line noise is generally taken care of in the power supply. This is the only real problem with lose of ground and definitely not a safety issue for the user.
Right, but a laptop is designed to operate on a battery, with absolutely no connection to ground, so a laptop without a ground is fine. A desktop without a ground is another matter, IMO.
InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2009, 09:37 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 780
Default

Power cord question


Unless it has in internal power supply which is not used while the battery is in use. If it has an external power supply you may be correct.

hayewe farm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Power Save Device capt2 Electrical 52 02-24-2010 06:42 PM
New dishwasher needs power supply. lupien Electrical 8 01-16-2009 08:58 PM
Pull cord light question 737Pilot Electrical 5 12-21-2008 09:49 AM
3 phase power phase question jelliott Electrical 16 12-20-2008 03:21 PM
Help! Mystery power in complex 3-way! mnyman2003 Electrical 12 12-16-2007 01:10 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.