Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-02-2012, 06:46 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 6
Share |
Default

Power Cord fastners


I hung a new light fixture yesterday and used these fastened to run the cord along the wall to clean it up. I didn't hard wire it so it goes to a plug in and has a switch on the end of the plug. These say they are for low voltage but is this ok as long as the cord isn't crimped tightly in the fasteners?

Power Cord fastners-image-4173604676.jpg

doc_63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2012, 07:52 PM   #2
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 13,977
Default

Power Cord fastners


You should be fine with that.

__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2012, 08:02 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 6
Default

Power Cord fastners


Thanks for the reply. I thought it would be ok but the fasteners were specified for low voltage. Maybe because that's what they typically get used for. Thanks again.
doc_63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2012, 08:34 PM   #4
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 13,977
Default

Power Cord fastners


Yes, typically for Coax & Cat-5e/Cat-6, but to hold the power cord out of the way, you will be fine. It still makes it a temporary installation, since the cord is not permanently installed, same as the fixture.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2012, 08:36 PM   #5
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,501
Default

Power Cord fastners


Flexible cords should not be fastened to the building surfaces.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2012, 08:37 PM   #6
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,730
Default

Power Cord fastners


What kind of light is ist?
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2012, 09:44 PM   #7
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 13,977
Default

Power Cord fastners


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
Flexible cords should not be fastened to the building surfaces.
I really would not consider that as fastened to the building surface. It is more of just held by the coax/ethernet clips. You can actually pull on the cord, and it will come loose from under those clips.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2012, 11:19 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 6
Default

Power Cord fastners


Power Cord fastners-image-3510729037.jpg



Power Cord fastners-image-3173611543.jpg

It's a track light. It has an adapter that snaps into the end of the track with a power cord attached to it. The fasteners aren't pounded in tight if that matters.
doc_63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 07:50 AM   #9
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 13,977
Default

Power Cord fastners


Since the power cord was is for a temp use only, and since this is track lighting, I would go with something like http://www.lowes.com/pd_193256-35681...ems&facetInfo= and the proper box, that will allow you to pull Romex for permanent use, if that fixture is staying.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 08:24 AM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 6
Default

Power Cord fastners


Romex isn't an option. The track light kit comes with the adapter that contains the power cord shown in the photos. The adapter slides and snaps right into the end of the track. Then the cord shown is attached to the adapter permanently and plugs into the wall on the other end. I did however consider this hiding option but I had these fasteners and thought they might work. How is one better than the other? Other than a cleaner look?

Thanks for the replies guys. You're knowledge truly helps us DIY'ers.

doc_63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Samsung TV Extension Power cord Olgian77 Electrical 31 06-25-2012 05:14 PM
14/3 Power Cord in conduit NotSoElectric Electrical 10 09-05-2011 09:40 AM
Emergency power backup via power inverter upabove Electrical 14 06-08-2010 11:18 PM
Power cord question bucksone Electrical 15 04-10-2009 09:56 PM
need instructions on replacing a Whirlpool refrigerator power cord please. ChrisC30 Electrical 2 03-10-2008 09:59 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.