Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-14-2013, 11:49 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 81
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Power cable wire nutted in return duct not in box


I didn't drill it. It was drilled by whomever wired the house. It is about a 5/8" hole. Also does it matter that the other cable is the older NM not NM-B. The cable I will be put in next to it is NM-B. I don't know if that changes whether they have to be derated or not since older NM is rated at 60C.


Last edited by pex006; 07-14-2013 at 11:51 PM.
pex006 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2013, 11:50 PM   #17
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,134
Rewards Points: 16
Default

Power cable wire nutted in return duct not in box


5/8", that is more than enough space there. You could get three Romex in that hole with no problems, and still have space to spare.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to gregzoll For This Useful Post:
pex006 (07-14-2013)
Old 07-14-2013, 11:52 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 81
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Power cable wire nutted in return duct not in box


Thanks. Any problem with older NM in the same hole with NM-B?
pex006 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2013, 12:01 AM   #19
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,134
Rewards Points: 16
Default

Power cable wire nutted in return duct not in box


Nope, as long as you do not junction to it, or extend it with the newer NM, if there is no ground in the old stuff. Personally if you have access of pulling that older NM out of there, if it is the kind with the cloth jacket, I would get it out while you have the wall open, and pull new. That is just my two cents.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2013, 12:08 AM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 81
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Power cable wire nutted in return duct not in box


It's white pvc covered cable and says Colonial Flex NM 12/2 with ground 600V on the jacket. House was built in 1983.
pex006 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2013, 12:19 AM   #21
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,134
Rewards Points: 16
Default

Power cable wire nutted in return duct not in box


I would then leave it alone as long as there are no nicks or the inner wires are not showing in the jacket. As for the old stuff, it should also have the temp rating stamped or printed on the jacket, like the newer stuff.

Just for your info, there really is no difference from the old term of Romex NM & NM-B, other than they added a B for grins, along with newer NM-B inside looks like THHN/THWN, and the higher temp rating of the jacket material.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to gregzoll For This Useful Post:
Kyle_in_rure (07-15-2013)
Old 07-15-2013, 12:45 AM   #22
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 81
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Power cable wire nutted in return duct not in box


Ok. Thanks for all your help. I actually don't have the wall opened up. I am going to try and fish the new cable down that neighboring studbay through that hole in the toplate down about 7 feet to the new receptacle hole. It's in the kitchen so the wife doesn't want me ripping the wall open.
pex006 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2013, 01:08 AM   #23
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,134
Rewards Points: 16
Default

Power cable wire nutted in return duct not in box


You can patch holes, along with replacing wives.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2013, 01:26 AM   #24
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 81
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Power cable wire nutted in return duct not in box


LOL! I'll try to fish it down, but I'll cut holes if I have too.
pex006 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2013, 11:01 AM   #25
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,134
Rewards Points: 16
Default

Power cable wire nutted in return duct not in box


Pex006, invest in a good set of "Fish Sticks", which will help you to pull the line down or up. I found it easier to use Fish sticks, to pull our antenna coax down, then trying to use my fish tape, due to having plaster sticking out the holes of the Gyprock that is on the walls of our home, which was causing the tape to go off track, or get hung up by the plaster stubs.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2013, 11:32 AM   #26
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 81
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Power cable wire nutted in return duct not in box


Thanks for the tip. I'll pick some up.

pex006 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding a wall switch to a pull chain fixture abacuslearns Electrical 17 12-20-2011 06:02 PM
Using flex duct for return. lakeresident HVAC 3 11-14-2011 09:56 AM
ceiling fan wicked97 Electrical 4 08-21-2011 08:12 AM
Air duct return gallia HVAC 5 10-16-2010 12:52 PM
I really need help! POOK Electrical 34 04-20-2007 07:01 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.