Power In Breaker Box None Out Of Box - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 08-10-2012, 10:24 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 10
Question

Power in breaker box none out of box

Hello I am a Pastor of a small church where we have been having power issues for over 10 years in our building.

The first upgrade came when we switched from fuses to breakers; that was a cost there. Then a few years down the road the breakers began to pop. From that we were told the power was not disbursed evenly in the building and so they came out and supposedly fixed that; more money.

Now I am at a lost because I am having issues again and I don’t know where to start looking for the problem. I am getting readings from a meter of 120v per leg and 240v coming into the panel. However, when I turn on the breakers voltage reading is 0v on both legs. But once I turn off all breakers it reads the 120v per leg and 240v. I have power coming into the panel box but none coming out. Are there any ideas where I might want to start.

Advertisement

Last edited by oh'mike; 08-10-2012 at 07:32 PM. Reason: added spaces
Pastor Dee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2012, 10:45 AM   #2

Rewards Points: 500

Appeal to your congregation to find an electrician who will volunteer their time to at least check on your concerns and explain the electrical system to you.

Advertisement

techpappy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2012, 10:48 AM   #3

Rewards Points: 524

Where are you getting the 0 volt reading, the same place as the 120/240?
danpik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2012, 10:50 AM   #4

Thank you Techpappy this is one avenue that we are currently checking on as well we believe we may have found someone but i cant meet with them until Monday.
Old 08-10-2012, 11:16 AM   #5

Danpik
Yes I am getting 0v from the same location as the 120v/240v.