Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-15-2010, 10:09 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

Power


How can I grab power from a ceiling light that is controlled by a wall switch, or from an electrical outlet with one cable in and none out, to power a new three way switch?

jmbservices is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2010, 06:40 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Wilmington, DE
Posts: 3,118
Default

Power


From what you describe, you can't, the power in the light box is always switched, no constant hot. You could get it from the outlet box.

Just Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Just Bill For This Useful Post:
jmbservices (09-16-2010)
Old 09-16-2010, 06:46 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

Power


Power can be run to the light 1st or the wall switch
No way of telling unless you take the face plate off & look
If there is only 1 cable at the switch then power was run to the light 1st

Outlet- unless controlled by a wall switch - will always have power
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Scuba_Dave For This Useful Post:
jmbservices (09-16-2010)
Old 09-16-2010, 07:14 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,862
Default

Power


Is the three way switch setup for the same light or a different light?
__________________
Stop wasting time re-adjusting the pattern. Have several lawn sprinklers, one for each pattern.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2010, 07:51 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2
Default

Power


The power is for a different light that will be controlled by the 3 way switch.
jmbservices is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2010, 07:54 PM   #6
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Default

Power


Run it off the outlet....

DM

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to DangerMouse For This Useful Post:
jmbservices (09-16-2010)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Outdoor Hot Tub / Overhead Power line issue scottwilliamson Electrical 3 02-12-2010 10:37 AM
Devices to save on phantom power fetzer85 Electrical 7 12-04-2009 08:03 PM
Recurring Power Oddities - Regular Schedule DamienChaos Electrical 16 10-21-2009 07:45 PM
Amp meter Results - SE Cable Bad or Power CO jamiedolan Electrical 30 01-23-2009 12:16 AM
safe way to add extension to power cord sil Electrical 7 10-18-2007 09:58 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.