Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-03-2011, 11:06 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 13
Share |
Default

Power 120V Pump from a 240V circuit


UPDATE: Jump to post #23 to see correct schematic for EXISTING WIRING and PROPOSED WIRING CHANGE.

Hi,

I have a 120V pool pump (electric motor) that I am using to replace a 240V pump. The new pump draws 14.6 Amps maximum.

In the electrical box, there is existing wiring for 240V to the pump and there is also a neutral wire that powers a 400 Watt pool light. The hot wire to the pool light is protected by a 20 Amp circuit breaker. There is also a GFCI protecting the pool light.

-DELETED-

The new 120V pump specifies to use 12 gauge wiring for wire lengths up to 50 feet. The neutral wire from the service panel to the electrical box is 15 feet. Then it would tee to the pump (5 feet) and to the pool light (50 feet).

What is the best way to get 120V to the new pump? Should I run a new neutral, using the existing Hot wire from the 240V circuit breaker? Or do I have to run a brand new 120V circuit for this pump? Running a brand new circuit has two major drawbacks. I won't be able to use my existing 240V time switch and I won't be able to slave my pool cleaner (Polaris) booster pump timer to it. I could still wire the timer clock motors to 240V and use them. But it would be tricky to prevent the Polaris/Cleaner pump from turning on without the filter pump being on.

This is a lot to describe in words, so I will try and post a schematic of the existing wiring.

Thanks,
RoberTX


Last edited by RoberTX; 07-04-2011 at 06:03 PM. Reason: corrected fact that existing timer clock motor could still be wired to 240V with new 115V circuit.
RoberTX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2011, 11:11 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 1,646
Default

Power 120V Pump from a 240V circuit


a lot of pumps can be wired for 110 or 220. did you check the specs for the new one usually its on the inside cover over the wiring connections besides in the instructions.
at 120 it will use twice the amps then at 220.

DannyT is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to DannyT For This Useful Post:
Bigplanz (07-04-2011)
Old 07-03-2011, 11:15 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 13
Default

Power 120V Pump from a 240V circuit


I am positive my new pump only runs with 120V. It is a Pentair Whisperflo Dual Speed WFDS-24
RoberTX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2011, 11:21 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 13
Default

Power 120V Pump from a 240V circuit


This is the existing wiring - 230V pump used in this installation.


The yellow DPST box is a manually controlled double-throw-single-throw switch to remove all 240V power. The power goes from the manual DPST to the timers

The 1,2,3,4 yellow boxes are the terminals for two DPST 240V time switches. When a switch is ON, LINE connections 1 and 3are connected to 2 and 4. The cleaner (Polaris) pump is slaved to the filter pump.

The top right blue shaded box is my main service panel. The left blue shaded are is an electric box that houses the two timers and wiring between the service panel and the pool equipment.

Last edited by RoberTX; 07-04-2011 at 01:20 AM. Reason: corrected error in schematic image
RoberTX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2011, 11:26 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 13
Default

Power 120V Pump from a 240V circuit


Here is what I asked about in the original post - connect one of the old 240V pump wires to neutral to supply 120V to the new pump. This would be very easy to do and it would allow me to use my existing timers and still be able to slave the cleaner pump to the first pump.

What do the experts (anyone with more experience than me) think about this? I'm definitely not sure enough about it to try it yet! Please see my concerns in the original post.



Thanks,
RoberTX

Last edited by RoberTX; 07-04-2011 at 01:20 AM. Reason: Added Picture, corrected picture
RoberTX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2011, 11:27 PM   #6
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

Power 120V Pump from a 240V circuit


Quote:
Originally Posted by RoberTX View Post
I am positive my new pump only runs with 120V. It is a Pentair Whisperflo Dual Speed WFDS-24
That kinda odd I did look up website about this pump and it did stated 240 volts and can you double check the nameplate again to make sure you see word say " VOLTS " it will stated either 120 volts or 120-240 or 240 volts.

And also what horsepower rating this pump motour is ?

Also if you are aware with modern NEC code all the pool pumps either on 120 volts or 240 volts it have to be GFCI protected.

Most pool pump I have run into genrally are wired for 240 volts when you get above 1 Horsepower rating the 3/4 HP rating can be either way.

Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2011, 11:33 PM   #7
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

Power 120V Pump from a 240V circuit


Quote:
Originally Posted by RoberTX View Post
Here is what I asked about in the original post - connect one of the old 240V pump wires to neutral to supply 120V to the new pump. This would be very easy to do and it would allow me to use my existing timers and still be able to slave the cleaner pump to the first pump.

What do the experts (anyone with more experience than me) think about this? I'm definitely not sure enough about it to try it yet! Please see my concerns in the original post.



Thanks,
RoberTX
What you suggest on this one it will NOT work if you hook up in that way as you posted in the photo one thing I will say for sure you will trip the GFCI as soon the pump kick on.

Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to frenchelectrican For This Useful Post:
RoberTX (07-04-2011)
Old 07-03-2011, 11:40 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 13
Default

Power 120V Pump from a 240V circuit


Thank you for the replies. The WFDS-24 pump is 115V only. Here is Pentair's website:

http://www.pentairpool.com/pool-pro/...e-pump-193.htm

I thought the GFCI would trip, that was my biggest concern

If I were to run a new Neutral wire from the service panel to the motor would that be acceptable? Would you recommend 10 gauge or 12 gauge?

Thanks,
RoberTX
RoberTX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2011, 11:49 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 13
Default

Power 120V Pump from a 240V circuit


Here is a picture showing a new neutral wire ran from the service panel.



Is this acceptable?

Thanks,
RoberTX

Last edited by RoberTX; 07-04-2011 at 01:21 AM. Reason: corrected schematic image
RoberTX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2011, 11:50 PM   #10
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

Power 120V Pump from a 240V circuit


see below
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )

Last edited by frenchelectrican; 07-03-2011 at 11:55 PM.
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2011, 11:55 PM   #11
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

Power 120V Pump from a 240V circuit


Ahh ok before I can comment more on this one was the old pump did have two speed or not due the diagram you posted here that is wired for single speed so if you do need two speed function you will need addtional connections to order to get second speed running { I think cleaning mode will run in high speed while normal operation will run in low speed unless it is reversed as I stated.,, }

You will have to bring seperated netural for the pump motour you can NOT tap to the lighting circuit that is complety off limit for safety issue.

Note: as soon I posted I did see updated drawing so that is good however you will need two pole GFCI breaker to handle both 120 volt motour et 240 volt motour.

Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to frenchelectrican For This Useful Post:
RoberTX (07-04-2011)
Old 07-03-2011, 11:57 PM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 13
Default

Power 120V Pump from a 240V circuit


You are correct. This is a two speed pump. But the pump has a switch mounted on the back of the motor for selecting Hi / Lo speed. So only one power wire goes to the switch. The switch and wiring for the two speeds is not shown because it is part of the pump assembly.

So there are no other issues if I run a separate neutral and wire as above? The 240V 30 A circuit breaker and 12 AWG wiring is all adequate and safe? I think it should function just fine.

Any more input is greatly appreciated! I am not taking this 'amateur electrician' job lightly!

Thanks,
RoberTX
RoberTX is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to RoberTX For This Useful Post:
frenchelectrican (07-03-2011)
Old 07-04-2011, 12:00 AM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 13
Default

Power 120V Pump from a 240V circuit


So I cannot use the existing 30 Amp 2 pole circuit breaker for both the 120V pump and the 240V pump?
RoberTX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2011, 12:02 AM   #14
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

Power 120V Pump from a 240V circuit


Oui there is other thing is that make sure you have good bonding wire that typically #6 bare copper if the old pump did have it then it will be simauir loction to rehook the bonding wire and make sure the #6 conductor is clean before you hook it up to the motour.

What conductor size you have in there now due you mention to moi the 30 amp breaker as long it is hard wired and have overload protection at the motour it is fine however if not then you will have to downsize the breaker to 20 or 25 amp depending on what the other pump motour size is and what the current drawage as well.

Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2011, 12:06 AM   #15
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

Power 120V Pump from a 240V circuit


Quote:
Originally Posted by RoberTX View Post
So I cannot use the existing 30 Amp 2 pole circuit breaker for both the 120V pump and the 240V pump?
Oui you can if both pump drawage do not excess 24 amps you are fine I allready out the 120 volts however need one more info on the exsting 240 volt motour how many amp or HP rating on the other motour to make sure so you can keep the exsting breaker otherwise you will have to get new GFCI breaker { this is a current code requirement }

Merci,
Marc

__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
240v Air Compressor to 120v help ruacoltsnut General DIY Discussions 10 11-11-2010 04:05 PM
No power, not the circuit breaker PCMLR Electrical 3 10-10-2010 08:22 PM
No power to all outlets on circuit. noloawarfare Electrical 4 05-01-2010 04:41 PM
Sump Pump Questions henlij Plumbing 19 08-12-2009 07:50 PM
Do you think a tool running at 240v works better than at 120v? Piedmont Electrical 39 07-03-2009 09:50 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.