Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-19-2009, 12:02 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 355
Share |
Default

Powder room


Does code require a dedicated 20 Amp GFI outlet in a powder room, just as is the case with a full bath?

stubits is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2009, 12:08 PM   #2
Licensed Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 1,528
Default

Powder room


If it has a sink and a toilet, then it is a bathroom, so yes it does. What I usually do is put the entire powder room on its own circuit (receptacle, vent fan, light)

__________________
"Life is hard. Life is harder when you're stupid." John Wayne
HouseHelper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2009, 12:13 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 355
Default

Powder room


That's what I thought, but wanted to confirm. Thanks!
stubits is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2009, 12:14 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

Powder room


What about a sink & shower? What is that?
I usually run a dedicated circuit anywhere the wife/wimmen may be using a hair dryer
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2009, 12:17 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 355
Default

Powder room


Dave-

That was really my question. Does the code offer any distinction between a bathroom, which to me means a bath and/or shower and a powder room.

I don't see a need for an outlet at all in a 15 sq. ft. powder room. Frankly, I don't think someone could do their hair there if they wanted to!
stubits is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2009, 01:42 PM   #6
Registered User
 
Termite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6,520
Default

Powder room


Quote:
Originally Posted by stubits View Post
Dave-

That was really my question. Does the code offer any distinction between a bathroom, which to me means a bath and/or shower and a powder room.

I don't see a need for an outlet at all in a 15 sq. ft. powder room. Frankly, I don't think someone could do their hair there if they wanted to!
Quick answer, no, the code doesn't differentiate between full baths and powder rooms. Same holds true for bath fans, which makes very little sense to me (other than for odors). For remodeling purposes, run 12ga wire on a dedicated circuit for lights, fan and receptacles in your powder room. In new construction you could group all the baths' receptacles on one circuit, although I wouldn't do it myself.

Termite is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Vents from boiler room RammsteinNicCage HVAC 3 03-11-2009 07:28 PM
Cold Room mikelbeck HVAC 14 01-16-2009 08:21 PM
Powder or Liquid Paint Nestor_Kelebay General DIY Discussions 2 01-06-2009 05:05 AM
Powder Room Framing Question Not Sure Building & Construction 9 08-11-2006 06:13 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.