DIY Home Improvement Forum banner

Pot lights in a drop ceiling

40K views 3 replies 4 participants last post by  Speedy Petey 
#1 ·
Ok, phase one of my basement reno project went well - planning. I now have the boxes installed, and tahnks to some good folks here, I have now finalized my wiring diagrams.

So, I arrive home with all of the supplies needed, start installation of the electrical boxes, complete that part, ready to locate and put up the lighting. Small lights - easy - install metal box to host the wiring, the eventually the ceramic light will attach. These are in rooms with no drop ceiling - so no issue. Go to the main room where there will eventually be a drop ceiling, and oh oh???????

Well - what can I say - I have never worked with pot lights before. I have never worked with a drop ceiling before. I figure that pre planning is best unless I want a real mess later to fix. So my questions to help me prevent a real mess are as follows:

1) My pots (or Cans) have bars on them that are meant to be supported by the joists up above. Of course, because I am using a drop ceiling, this is not possible. How should I install them in the drop ceiling - can i mount the supports on the pots to the drop ceiling frame? is that safe? Should I wire them to the joist above instead, or in combination with mounting them to the ceiling frame?

2) I am doing all of the wiring now, and then will be doing the drywall, with the drop ceiling going in last. What do I do with these lights between now and then - do I install them in the ceiling joists - and move them down later, do I hang them temporarily with wire from the ceiling joists, do I just put junction boxes up where the lights eventually will be?