Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-03-2012, 09:09 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1
Share |
Default

Pot Lights


In 50 watt pot light fixture how many wires can go I mean if there is one hot wire can I take 2 more wires to give connected two more pot light.In other farm if i have pot light 1 , 2 and 3 . I put the hot wire in no 2 and from there I take one wire to no 1 & one wire to no 3 .please clear me a bit

Thanks

saeed M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2012, 09:25 PM   #2
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,390
Default

Pot Lights


The junction box should tell you how many cable or conductors are allowed in them.

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2012, 09:29 PM   #3
MarginallyQualified
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Winston-Salem NC
Posts: 3,650
Default

Pot Lights


Quote:
Originally Posted by saeed M View Post
In 50 watt pot light fixture how many wires can go...
If you mean how many can fit within the connection box...
that is referred to as "box fill" and the answer will vary by maker.
But most will hold more than should ever need to be connected.

Quote:
...if there is one hot wire can I take 2 more wires to give connected two more pot light.
That would be a total of 3 sets of 2W (romex?) = 6 plus 3 ground wires.
And yeah... they'll fit in most if you're careful.

A better way would be to run the wire around the room:
---> Light ---> Light ---> Light ---> Light ---> (etc)
This way you never have more than 2 sets of wire per light.

hth

Last edited by TarheelTerp; 01-03-2012 at 09:32 PM.
TarheelTerp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2012, 12:21 AM   #4
Member
 
Julius793's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New york
Posts: 1,053
Default

Pot Lights


Quote:
Originally Posted by TarheelTerp
But most will hold more than should ever need to be connected.


hth
That's what I used to think!
__________________
Electricity will kill you if you give it a chance
Julius793 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2012, 02:08 AM   #5
Not a Noob or Boob
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Naperville, IL
Posts: 109
Default

Pot Lights


Quote:
Originally Posted by TarheelTerp View Post
If you mean how many can fit within the connection box...
that is referred to as "box fill" and the answer will vary by maker.
But most will hold more than should ever need to be connected.


That would be a total of 3 sets of 2W (romex?) = 6 plus 3 ground wires.
And yeah... they'll fit in most if you're careful.

A better way would be to run the wire around the room:
---> Light ---> Light ---> Light ---> Light ---> (etc)
This way you never have more than 2 sets of wire per light.

hth

What he said!
Rob1975 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Finding underground electric wire for driveway lights. mitch21131 Electrical 25 09-24-2012 08:52 AM
Need info on replacing 8 recessed lights in bathroom OhmZoned Electrical 1 11-07-2011 12:35 PM
Use factory fog light switch for aftermarket lights? downunder Automotive Repairs 6 07-10-2010 11:45 AM
Changing switch for lights in basement, confused on current wiring. RyanD Electrical 2 05-14-2009 08:37 PM
Adding can lights to an existing circuit TexasEd Electrical 1 06-17-2008 07:23 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.