Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-30-2009, 09:21 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 95
Share |
Question

POT light in Return Air Duct Jst. Bay??


Hi.

In my basement I have TJI wood joists. Between a pair of them I have a Return air duct (basically just metal screwed to the U/S of the joist to keep it closed). I need to have a Pot light in between the joists due to my layout but the R/A duct is there.

Is putting a Pot light in a Return Air allowed? I don't see why not considering its not the HOT supply air but I don't know the code very well.

I live in Manitoba Canada if that helps.

Thanks

Matt
mfleming is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2009, 09:33 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 95
Default

POT light in Return Air Duct Jst. Bay??


Ok, so I found you need to use special NMD90 plenium wire and can only run in THROUGH the duct and not along side it. So having a light up there would never work.

What about if I built a wood box inside the joist bay with 1/2" drywall on the inside then place the Pot light inside this? I should still have enough airflow around the box for my return air plus I have a sealed fire guard box for the light.

What do u guys think?
mfleming is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2009, 07:23 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,781
Default

POT light in Return Air Duct Jst. Bay??


Why could you not have a junction box in the next stud bay where the regular wire runs, and plenum rated wire in perhaps two feet of metal flex conduit going through the joist to the can light on the other side? (Do they make plenum rated non-metallic (NM) sheathed cable so you would not need conduit?)

If you built the wood enclosure with enough ventilation space inside for the can light itself, are you sure there would be enough remaining cross sectional area in the bay for the return air?
__________________
The average homeowner who lost his house in the Oklahoma tornadoes should move for good and not rebuild. Too much complexity watchdogging the contractor. Too much a chance to be defrauded.

Last edited by AllanJ; 05-01-2009 at 07:29 AM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2009, 01:54 AM   #4
DIYer
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Virginia
Posts: 910
Default

POT light in Return Air Duct Jst. Bay??


I'm pretty sure there's no plenum rated NM... you have to go with plenum rated MC.
Gigs is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
question on return duct familyman HVAC 13 01-25-2009 11:05 AM
Does return duct width matter? bvbellomo HVAC 13 01-11-2009 02:03 PM
Return duct "boot or no boot" ads67 HVAC 16 01-10-2009 09:38 AM
Water in (and around) return duct kennelm HVAC 6 06-18-2008 06:13 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.